#1  
Old November 22nd, 2010, 12:30 PM
jhaprins jhaprins is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
jhaprins is on a distinguished road
Default IPv6 support in Netgear switches

Hello,

I bought a Netgear GS105E switch because it is very small and it can be used to consolidate multiple networks onto one ethernet port on a laptop through vlan's and it fits in my backpack when I'm on the road. So far so good.

I then also tested it to see if IPv6 would go through the switch, and although it is a full Layer 2 switch without any Layer 3 functionality, I had allready seen the problems people were having with ICMP, so I didn't have much hope here.

And indeed IPv6 is not working through this switch, which basicly means that they have done hard work to break something that is outside the reach of normal work of a layer 2 switch. But we allready have seen this with ICMP so not really a surprise.

Jan Hugo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 3rd, 2011, 01:28 PM
nolith nolith is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
nolith is on a distinguished road
Default Re: IPv6 support in Netgear switches



If only I had seen this post before buying I'll never had wasted my money



My LAN:

router -> managed switch (not netgear) -> GS105E -> wrt (wifi)

IPv6 works on wifi, manged switch, router and device attached to managed switch but not on GS105E attached devices.

I bought this as my access switch....epic fail
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 11th, 2011, 12:44 PM
lostusername lostusername is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
lostusername is on a distinguished road
Default Re: IPv6 support in Netgear switches

Are you sure about this? I read your post and had to test for myself. I could ping and use ssh via IPv6. I have two GS105E with three VLANs.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 11th, 2011, 02:35 PM
nolith nolith is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
nolith is on a distinguished road
Default Re: IPv6 support in Netgear switches

Quote:
Originally Posted by lostusername View Post
Are you sure about this? I read your post and had to test for myself. I could ping and use ssh via IPv6. I have two GS105E with three VLANs.
Today I tested it with wireshark.

PC 1 (win7) connected to port 2
PC 2 (os x) connectet to port 3

port 2 and 3 are both on vlan 2 untagged

PC 1 and PC 2 have both static ipv6 address in the same prefix

pc 1 and pc 2 pings both over ipv4 but not over ipv6.

Sniffing with wireshark on both sides I can see only outgoing traffic but no incoming data...

replacing gs105e with another switch solves the problem.

any hints?

FW version: GS105E_V1.01.12
vlan configured in 802.1Q advanced

thanks a lot for you help
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 11th, 2011, 02:55 PM
nolith nolith is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
nolith is on a distinguished road
Default Re: IPv6 support in Netgear switches

Another test:
I mirrored ports 2-3-4-5 on port 1

PC 1 connected on port 1 (vlan 1 mirror)
PC 2 connected on port 3 (vlan 2)

On PC 1 I can sniff icmpv6 neighbor solicitation from PC 2
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 11th, 2011, 05:55 PM
gk_h3lpl3ss gk_h3lpl3ss is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
gk_h3lpl3ss is on a distinguished road
Default Re: IPv6 support in Netgear switches

Can you upload your capture in zip file to upload free hosting sites and post the link so others can review the capture to see what is going on. Because I tested my GS105E and did not run into any problem with IPv6.

I assume off course that since you saw 1 way traffic for the IPv6 that you checked the firewall on your computer to make sure it was not filtering for ICMP. If firewall is enabled, disable them temporary and then do the test again.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 12th, 2011, 11:03 AM
nolith nolith is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
nolith is on a distinguished road
Post Re: IPv6 support in Netgear switches

Quote:
Originally Posted by gk_h3lpl3ss View Post
Can you upload your capture in zip file to upload free hosting sites and post the link so others can review the capture to see what is going on. Because I tested my GS105E and did not run into any problem with IPv6.

I assume off course that since you saw 1 way traffic for the IPv6 that you checked the firewall on your computer to make sure it was not filtering for ICMP. If firewall is enabled, disable them temporary and then do the test again.
Thanks for your help,

I disabled firewall on both computer and did the test again.

Same result

Dumps and configs can be found here

Sybelle - OS X
Code:
$ ifconfig en0          
en0: flags=8963<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
        ether 64:b9:e8:bf:e0:94 
        inet6 2001:1418:17d::6 prefixlen 64 
        inet6 fe80::66b9:e8ff:febf:e094%en0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x4 
        inet6 2001:1418:17d::a prefixlen 64 
        inet 192.168.1.154 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.1.255
        media: autoselect (1000baseT <full-duplex,flow-control>)
        status: active
        

$ netstat -r -n
        Routing tables

        Internet:
        Destination        Gateway            Flags        Refs      Use   Netif Expire
        default            192.168.1.1        UGSc            3        0     en0
        127                127.0.0.1          UCS             0        0     lo0
        127.0.0.1          127.0.0.1          UH              2       12     lo0
        169.254            link#4             UCS             0        0     en0
        192.168.1          link#4             UCS             3        0     en0
        192.168.1.1        0:16:c8:69:b0:4    UHLWI           3        0     en0   1184
        192.168.1.154      127.0.0.1          UHS             0        1     lo0
        192.168.1.222      0:40:63:e8:2:7f    UHLWI           2       52     en0   1187
        192.168.1.255      ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff  UHLWbI          0        5     en0

        Internet6:
        Destination                             Gateway                         Flags         Netif Expire
        default                                 2001:1418:17d::1                UGSc            en0
        ::1                                     ::1                             UH              lo0
        2001:1418:138::/64                      link#7                          UC           vmnet8
        2001:1418:138::1                        0:50:56:c0:0:8                  UHL             lo0
        2001:1418:17d::/64                      link#4                          UC              en0
        2001:1418:17d::1                        link#4                          UHLW            en0
        2001:1418:17d::6                        64:b9:e8:bf:e0:94               UHL             lo0
        2001:1418:17d::a                        64:b9:e8:bf:e0:94               UHL             lo0
        fe80::%lo0/64                           fe80::1%lo0                     Uc              lo0
        fe80::1%lo0                             link#1                          UHL             lo0
        fe80::%en0/64                           link#4                          UC              en0
        fe80::216:c8ff:fe69:b004%en0            0:16:c8:69:b0:4                 UHLW            en0
        fe80::66b9:e8ff:febf:e094%en0           64:b9:e8:bf:e0:94               UHL             lo0
        fe80::%en1/64                           link#5                          UC              en1
        fe80::216:c8ff:fe69:b004%en1            0:16:c8:69:b0:4                 UHLW            en1
        fe80::240:63ff:fee8:27f%en1             0:40:63:e8:2:7f                 UHLW            en1
        fe80::%vmnet8/64                        link#7                          UC           vmnet8
        fe80::250:56ff:fec0:8%vmnet8            0:50:56:c0:0:8                  UHL             lo0
        ff01::/32                               ::1                             Um              lo0
        ff02::/32                               ::1                             UmC             lo0
        ff02::/32                               link#4                          UmC             en0
        ff02::/32                               link#5                          UmC             en1
        ff02::/32                               link#7                          UmC          vmnet8
Memnoch- Win 7
Code:
C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig.exe /all

Windows IP Configuration

   Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : memnoch
   Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
   Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
   IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : l0g.in

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : l0g.in
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 20-CF-30-1B-D5-EF
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:1418:17d::7(Preferred)
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::22cf:30ff:fe1b:d5ef%11(Preferred)
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.7(Preferred)
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 2001:1418:17d::1
                                       192.168.1.1
   DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 237031216
   DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-4A-94-71-20-CF-30-1B-D5-EF

   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:1418:17d::222
                                       192.168.1.222
                                       8.8.8.8
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Reusable ISATAP Interface {1E69BD3D-0BD4-4499-956D-C83958D17BCC}:


   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : l0g.in
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Windows\system32>route -6 print
===========================================================================
Interface List
 11...20 cf 30 1b d5 ef ......Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
  1...........................Software Loopback Interface 1
 14...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
===========================================================================

IPv6 Route Table
===========================================================================
Active Routes:
 If Metric Network Destination      Gateway
 11    266 ::/0                     2001:1418:17d::1
  1    306 ::1/128                  On-link
 11    266 2001:1418:17d::/64       On-link
 11    266 2001:1418:17d::7/128     On-link
 11    266 fe80::/64                On-link
 11    266 fe80::22cf:30ff:fe1b:d5ef/128
                                    On-link
  1    306 ff00::/8                 On-link
 11    266 ff00::/8                 On-link
===========================================================================
Persistent Routes:
 If Metric Network Destination      Gateway
  0 4294967295 ::/0                     2001:1418:17d::1
===========================================================================
C:\Windows\system32>

Ping results
Code:
$ ping6 -c 4 2001:1418:17d::7
        PING6(56=40+8+8 bytes) 2001:1418:17d::6 --> 2001:1418:17d::7
        Request timeout for icmp_seq=0
        Request timeout for icmp_seq=1
        Request timeout for icmp_seq=2
        Request timeout for icmp_seq=3

        --- 2001:1418:17d::7 ping6 statistics ---
        4 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100.0% packet loss
Code:
C:\Windows\system32>ping -6 2001:1418:17d::6

Pinging 2001:1418:17d::6 with 32 bytes of data:
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.

Ping statistics for 2001:1418:17d::6:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 13th, 2011, 02:58 PM
ProSupportUT ProSupportUT is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 19
ProSupportUT is on a distinguished road
Default Re: IPv6 support in Netgear switches

nolith,

Please try disabling the "block unknown multicast" feature of the switch and see if it resolves the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 13th, 2011, 03:12 PM
LapGear LapGear is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 45
LapGear is on a distinguished road
Default Re: IPv6 support in Netgear switches

We think the problem is related to the "block unknown multicast" feature. Would you please try disabling it to see if it resolve the problem? The option is under system->multicast.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 13th, 2011, 10:38 PM
nolith nolith is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
nolith is on a distinguished road
Default Re: IPv6 support in Netgear switches

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProSupportUT View Post
nolith,

Please try disabling the "block unknown multicast" feature of the switch and see if it resolves the issue.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LapGear View Post
We think the problem is related to the "block unknown multicast" feature. Would you please try disabling it to see if it resolve the problem? The option is under system->multicast.


Thanks a lot!

For the records, I had to reboot the switch too.

Really thanks a lot, today I'm so happy.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:45 AM.