#1  
Old December 21st, 2010, 11:18 PM
Johng1234 Johng1234 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Johng1234 is on a distinguished road
Default WNCE2001 Fails to connect in setup

Trying to first time connect a WNCE2001 WiFi Internet Adapter to a Verizon DSL Modem/Router. The router is an Actiontek GT 704-WG.
During setup the adapter finds the network and accepts the security key. How ever it fails to connect after multiple tries. The router is broadcasting throughout the house and I have the adapter sitting next to the router. I am following the "Without WPS" setup instructions.
Appreciate any advise.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 21st, 2010, 11:29 PM
msnancy msnancy is offline
Senior Member
Advanced NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 514
msnancy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNCE2001 Fails to connect in setup

Disable the MAC filtering on your router.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 22nd, 2010, 10:45 AM
Johng1234 Johng1234 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Johng1234 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNCE2001 Fails to connect in setup

Thanks, for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 22nd, 2010, 12:40 PM
JohnB1234 JohnB1234 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
JohnB1234 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNCE2001 Fails to connect in setup

Hello all, I too am having the same problem. I have the same router but even with Mac Auth disabled I still get "cannot connect, try moving adapter closer to router" even though it is a foot away with 100% signal. I am a total amatuer when it comes to computers. Oh and JohnG no attempt to be funny just a mere coincidence!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 22nd, 2010, 12:58 PM
msnancy msnancy is offline
Senior Member
Advanced NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 514
msnancy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNCE2001 Fails to connect in setup

Try to change the encyption on your router and try to change the channel to 1, 6, or 11
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 22nd, 2010, 01:34 PM
JohnB1234 JohnB1234 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
JohnB1234 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNCE2001 Fails to connect in setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by msnancy View Post
Try to change the encyption on your router and try to change the channel to 1, 6, or 11
Thanks for the info, I changed the wep key and I tried channels 1,6,9,11,5 and no luck, any other ideas??
again thanks i adance for any help!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 22nd, 2010, 04:09 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNCE2001 Fails to connect in setup

Actiontek GT 704-WG

this seems only support WEP,WPA
http://www.actiontec.com/products/da...Gateway_1s.pdf

usually these type of 54Mbps is earlier version of the 54Mbps/802.11G unit.

using WNCE2001 with WEP are usually not good idea on N adapter units.

seems like you may need to change the main unit but since this your combo unit, you may want to put actiontec as "bridge mode" and replace with new router behind the actiontec and use WNCE2001 with new wireless router such as WNDRxxx family routers
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old December 22nd, 2010, 08:01 PM
JohnB1234 JohnB1234 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
JohnB1234 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNCE2001 Fails to connect in setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
Actiontek GT 704-WG

this seems only support WEP,WPA
http://www.actiontec.com/products/da...Gateway_1s.pdf

usually these type of 54Mbps is earlier version of the 54Mbps/802.11G unit.

using WNCE2001 with WEP are usually not good idea on N adapter units.

seems like you may need to change the main unit but since this your combo unit, you may want to put actiontec as "bridge mode" and replace with new router behind the actiontec and use WNCE2001 with new wireless router such as WNDRxxx family routers
Thanks for the reply, but like I said I am a total amatuer....in layman terms use the 704 gt as the gateway for my ISP and get another wireless router to connect my network to??
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old December 22nd, 2010, 08:05 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNCE2001 Fails to connect in setup

you have to put actiontec has "BRIDGE mode"

see router setup on my sig below
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old December 25th, 2010, 10:20 AM
admiraldr admiraldr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
admiraldr is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNCE2001 Fails to connect in setup

I have a similar problem. I try to connect to a WGR614 v3. The network is recognized, but connection fails (usually). I had it one time (!) in the last 3 days that I got a the green WLAN Led turned on and connection to the internet was possible (therefore the setup completed successfully). Now there are no connections anymore.

Any hints?

Best regards,
admiraldr
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:23 AM.