#1  
Old January 4th, 2011, 11:08 PM
geofflilley geofflilley is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
geofflilley is on a distinguished road
Default Uverse 2Wire 3800HGV-B and WNDR3300

I have a 2Wire 3800HGV-B modem from AT&T U-verse. It can transmit wireless signal, but not well.

I have a Netgear WNDR3300 that I'm trying to setup as an access point.

I've plugged a cable from the Netgear LAN 1 to the 2Wire Lan 2, then another cable from Netgear Lan 2 to my laptop.

I can get to the configuration page.

I turn off DHCP.

I assigned a static IP address to the Netgear in my modem's configuration screen.

I can see the router all day long when it's wired in.

The minute I try to access it wirelessly, no dice.

Ideas? Thanks in advance.

Geoff
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 5th, 2011, 03:53 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Uverse 2Wire 3800HGV-B and WNDR3300

double check the setup
http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/965
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 5th, 2011, 06:38 AM
geofflilley geofflilley is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
geofflilley is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Uverse 2Wire 3800HGV-B and WNDR3300

@jmizoguchi: Thanks for the quick reply. Unfortunately, I may not be using the right terminology.

What I want to be able to do is have the Netgear router in one room, wirelessly receiving signal from the modem.

The modem has wireless capability, just not very good. Trying to extend its range with the help of the Netgear device.

I can get the modem to see the Netgear router when it's wired to the modem, no problems. Again, the issue is when I try to get them to talk to each other wirelessly.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 5th, 2011, 06:42 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Uverse 2Wire 3800HGV-B and WNDR3300

Ah!

Here

http://vpncasestudy.com/download/WDS/WDS_Concept.pdf

2wire must support WDS as well
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 5th, 2011, 08:48 AM
geofflilley geofflilley is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
geofflilley is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Uverse 2Wire 3800HGV-B and WNDR3300

Well there we go. Regrettably, my stupid modem does not. Not too worried; I got this Netgear free from a buddy of mine who was cleaning out some computer stuff. I'll donate it to a school or some other worthy cause, considering it's practically brand new and functions perfectly (which is a heck of a lot more than I can say for my STUPID modem!) Either that or I'll hard-wire the WNDR to my modem and let it increase the range that way...that'd be OK, too...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 5th, 2011, 09:07 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Uverse 2Wire 3800HGV-B and WNDR3300

Sounds like plan. Good luck
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 5th, 2011, 11:23 AM
decypher01's Avatar
decypher01 decypher01 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Down South
Posts: 79
decypher01 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Uverse 2Wire 3800HGV-B and WNDR3300

@Thread Starter

2wire doesnt have WDS capability so it not applicable with WNDR3300 for wireless bridging i guess
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 5th, 2011, 11:31 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Uverse 2Wire 3800HGV-B and WNDR3300

Believe OP already find that out ...

Unless "modem" he stated is 2 wire ..,
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:16 PM.