#1  
Old January 9th, 2011, 04:40 PM
Levachek Levachek is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Levachek is on a distinguished road
Default WNDR3400 N600 - New Install (Connect) Problems

I have a WGT624 v2 router that works and want to replace it with the Netgear WNDR3400 N600. I initially tried to use the SmartWizard CD to install, but it finds a "static" IP address. This is incorrect since I'm on a broadband direct connection using DHCP--no DSL or modem just a ethernet connection on the wall. Since it is the weekend I have not spoken with my service provider. I have spend several hours following the manual install procedure and have given up for the evening. So, I replaced the 3400 with the original aging router (624) and it works fine--both wired and wireless.

I've been reading quite a bit, but haven't found a solution to this. I get an amber solid light on the 3400 - green on the 624. But no connection. I've reset and started over a few times -- once I thought I was making some progress when I got a different menu, but in the end the result was the same-no connection.

Thanks for any help,

Doug
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 9th, 2011, 05:03 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,369
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3400 N600 - New Install (Connect) Problems

who is ISP, if this is not DSL then what?
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 10th, 2011, 12:14 PM
Levachek Levachek is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Levachek is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3400 N600 - New Install (Connect) Problems

Our service is fiber to the home. That's pretty much it. Always worked in the past with other routers.

Thanks, does that help?

Doug
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 10th, 2011, 01:05 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,369
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3400 N600 - New Install (Connect) Problems

this is for common cable service issue but try this

http://vpncasestudy.com/download/use...ModemSetup.pdf
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 13th, 2011, 05:36 PM
Levachek Levachek is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Levachek is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3400 N600 - New Install (Connect) Problems

Thanks for the tip. Before I tried it I called my Internet provider and explained the problem. Apparently I can use two (2) ip address during a 48 hour period and the way I'm set up I was already using my allotment and ...if I attempt to use a third it doesn't allow it. The new router was seen as the third. Since I kept trying I the system didn't purge or reset the ip address after 48 hours as it should have. Anyway to make a long story short ... The IP cleared the ip addresses and all is working fine now. Not sure I explained that correctly, but the bottom line is it wasn't the Netgear router.

Again thanks for all you do on this forum.
Doug
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 13th, 2011, 05:48 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,369
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3400 N600 - New Install (Connect) Problems

interesting.. which ISP is this? some to remember...
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:40 PM.