#1  
Old January 30th, 2011, 06:00 AM
piedpifr piedpifr is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
piedpifr is on a distinguished road
Default DGN3500 Firmware Update

I have a DGN3500. It had firmware version 1.1.00.25 on it. When I used the router upgrade selection to check for a later firmware version, it came back that no new firmware was available.

So I went to the NetGear support page for the DGN3500 and found in the downloads that a new version 1.1.00.28 was available. I had to manually download and install it, since the router upgrade check didn't work.

However in both the 1.1.00.25 and 1.1.00.28 the ADSL modem firmware versions were the same, 4.4.4.1.3.1.

Is that why the router upgrade failed? Does the router upgrade only look at the version number of the ADSL modem?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 30th, 2011, 08:08 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: DGN3500 Firmware Update

this is asked so many times.

Router to check the updates is hit & miss with there server. It is better to manual check instead.

in most case it is rare that router upgrade feature in the router will have better firmware version.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 5th, 2011, 04:49 AM
piedpifr piedpifr is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
piedpifr is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DGN3500 Firmware Update

Kind of interesting that if this is a frequently asked question that it isn't in the FAQs.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 10th, 2011, 09:32 AM
rodgerbeard rodgerbeard is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
rodgerbeard is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DGN3500 Firmware Update

I have a problem trying to handshake properly with my ROKU TV appliance and so I decided to upgrade my DGN3500 firmware to the latest version for North American customers. I was running firmware version V1.1.00.25_1.00.25NA, ADSL firmware version 4.4.4.1.3.1.

I've too just performed the 1.1.00.28 firmware upgrade process manually. Yes, as previously stated, the automatic process, that I assumed was working, did not find the firmware upgrade version 1.1.00.28.

The firmware update was apparently successful. Although there was no pass/fail confirmation message afterwards. That said, my router status page shows exactly the same info as before the firmware upgrade.

This thread does NOT provide the answer to the questions asked previously (and as stated "asked many times before") so I will ask again:

1. What is the design content of firmware v28? Why is the upgrade offered?
2. Did my upgrade from v25 to 28 pass or fail? (Did NetGear just forget to update the embedded version identification info?)

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 11th, 2011, 08:52 PM
EANetgear EANetgear is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
EANetgear is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DGN3500 Firmware Update

I have an issue with my DGN3500 model. I got my modem with DGN3500 Firmware Version 1.1.00.22. When I did the auto search whilst logged into my modem I had the same issues as the guys above.

However when I've tried downloading version 25 and 28, I couldn't manually install either. It gives me the message "could not load firmware, please check this is the correct model" Not in those words exactly as I did the install a while ago but haven't had the chance to submit this query till now.

Could someone give me some help???

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 12th, 2011, 11:50 AM
Glitched Glitched is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 171
Glitched is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DGN3500 Firmware Update

First do not revive old topics, open a new thread if you have and problems or questions.

Second try loading the *.22 firmware and see if it continues to give you the same error:

http://support.netgear.com/app/produ...del/a_id/12453
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 13th, 2011, 03:42 AM
EANetgear EANetgear is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
EANetgear is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DGN3500 Firmware Update

Hi,

I will start a new topic regarding this and leave this thread.
Maybe a new topic will have more hits.

Cheers,
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:01 PM.