#1  
Old February 7th, 2011, 07:21 AM
yappe yappe is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 26
yappe is on a distinguished road
Default 2.4GHz but not 5GHz

When I sat up my router WDR3700 it was for both 2.4GHz and 5GHz. But I only get the 2.4GHz connection on my pc. It has a 811.2n Wireless LAN Card and under Properties/Advanced there are both 2.4 and 5GHz.
802.11 b/g/n PCI express wireless half-length mini card

Country region 2.4GHz #0 (1 - 11)
Country region 5GHz #7 (36 - 165)

Doesn't this mean that my card supports both 2.4 and 5GHz? And if so, why do I only get the 2.4GHz?

I have several wireless network around me and often in the late afternoon/evening when there are even more, I notice speed problems. I hope that being able to use the 5GHz connection will help (?).

I have very little techincal skills when it comes to networking.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 7th, 2011, 10:57 AM
GoNz0 GoNz0 is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 207
GoNz0 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 2.4GHz but not 5GHz

looks like its 2,4ghz only with a generic all for one driver, it has to be

802.11 a/b/g/n a being 5ghz
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 7th, 2011, 10:21 PM
yappe yappe is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 26
yappe is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 2.4GHz but not 5GHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoNz0 View Post
looks like its 2,4ghz only with a generic all for one driver, it has to be

802.11 a/b/g/n a being 5ghz

Thanks

An recommendation for a PCIe card or a USB one so I can ride on the 5 wave?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 7th, 2011, 11:28 PM
Devor's Avatar
Devor Devor is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ffynnon Garw
Posts: 1,997
Devor is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 2.4GHz but not 5GHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by yappe View Post
An recommendation for a PCIe card or a USB one so I can ride on the 5 wave?
It is still my intention to replace all laptop wireless cards with Intel 6200 cards. Intel 6300 if I felt like pealing the case open and adding a third antenna. Since I have not done this yet, I can not offer any first hand experience. But, that's the direction I intend to go.
__________________
WNDR3700v1 (v1.0.7.98NA)
Router uptime (d:h:m:s): 1050:08:34:23

--
How To Check and Change Your Router's Firmware:
http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=63234
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 8th, 2011, 11:18 PM
yappe yappe is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 26
yappe is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 2.4GHz but not 5GHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Devor View Post
It is still my intention to replace all laptop wireless cards with Intel 6200 cards. Intel 6300 if I felt like pealing the case open and adding a third antenna. Since I have not done this yet, I can not offer any first hand experience. But, that's the direction I intend to go.
Thanks

Does are for laptops, not desktops (?). Did a search for them in my country and they weren't easy to find, either.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 9th, 2011, 02:09 AM
Devor's Avatar
Devor Devor is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ffynnon Garw
Posts: 1,997
Devor is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 2.4GHz but not 5GHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by yappe View Post
Does are for laptops, not desktops (?).
Yes, both 6200 and the 6300 are for laptops.

For more information about the 6200, click HERE to go to the Intel product page.

For more information about the 6300, click HERE to go to the Intel product page.

Note: To take full advantage of the 6300 the laptop should either, a) already have three built-in antennas or, b) you will need to manually add the third antenna yourself.
__________________
WNDR3700v1 (v1.0.7.98NA)
Router uptime (d:h:m:s): 1050:08:34:23

--
How To Check and Change Your Router's Firmware:
http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=63234
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 9th, 2011, 02:55 AM
Devor's Avatar
Devor Devor is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ffynnon Garw
Posts: 1,997
Devor is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 2.4GHz but not 5GHz

Note2: You won't be able to take full advantage of the Intel 6300 card due to the limitations of the WNDR3700. This might not be an issue if you already have three antennas or plan to add a third in the laptop. Also, if you plan to upgrade to a different model router in the future and you only want to upgrade the laptop's wireless card once.
__________________
WNDR3700v1 (v1.0.7.98NA)
Router uptime (d:h:m:s): 1050:08:34:23

--
How To Check and Change Your Router's Firmware:
http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=63234
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 9th, 2011, 03:40 AM
yappe yappe is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 26
yappe is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 2.4GHz but not 5GHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Devor View Post
Note2: You won't be able to take full advantage of the Intel 6300 card due to the limitations of the WNDR3700. This might not be an issue if you already have three antennas or plan to add a third in the laptop. Also, if you plan to upgrade to a different model router in the future and you only want to upgrade the laptop's wireless card once.
Thanks

These aren't for me, then since I'm to replace the card in my desktop pc.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old February 9th, 2011, 04:11 AM
Devor's Avatar
Devor Devor is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ffynnon Garw
Posts: 1,997
Devor is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 2.4GHz but not 5GHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by yappe View Post
These aren't for me, then since I'm to replace the card in my desktop pc.
Oops! Sorry about that. I thought you were talking about a laptop.
__________________
WNDR3700v1 (v1.0.7.98NA)
Router uptime (d:h:m:s): 1050:08:34:23

--
How To Check and Change Your Router's Firmware:
http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=63234
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old February 9th, 2011, 08:58 AM
htismaqe's Avatar
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,144
htismaqe is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 2.4GHz but not 5GHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by yappe View Post
Thanks

These aren't for me, then since I'm to replace the card in my desktop pc.
Just get a Linksys AE1000 USB.

It comes with a cabled stand allowing for much better radio placement.

At 40 feet, mine easily do over 80Mbps on the 5Ghz.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:34 PM.