#1  
Old February 13th, 2011, 12:42 PM
et3cox et3cox is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
et3cox is on a distinguished road
Default WNDR3700v2 Guest Network

WNDR3700v2 with firmware v1.0.0.6

Router seems to work fine for internet access wired and wireless.
My problem comes when I try to use the guest network.
I have my wireless using WEP so I can't use that for the guest network.
When I configure the guest network with any security wpa/wpa2 I can't connect to the network. When I remove the security I can connect to the guest network and everything works as configured.
I see other problems that people are having but I haven't seen this one.
Do I have something misconfigured?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 13th, 2011, 02:10 PM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNDR3700v2 Guest Network

http://forum1.netgear.com/forumdisplay.php?f=105

read other thread under the right area. you will find already posted thread like this
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 7th, 2011, 02:51 PM
billybangbang billybangbang is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
billybangbang is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3700v2 Guest Network

Netgear n600 WNDR3700 access point (AP) setup instructions.

These are my instructions when you have two Netgear n600 WNDR3700. This is for the situation when one is your primary router and you want to set the second as an access point (AP).

1. Log into main router and find out IP subnet and subnet mask and then log off. Default IP address is 192.168.1.1.
2. Log into secondary router that is going to be the access point. I will refer to it as AP1.
To log on... plug an ethernet cable into your computer and plug the other end into any of the four ethernet ports on AP1. These are color coded orange when looking at the bottom of AP1.
Do NOT have any other ethernet cables plugged into AP1 right now.
3. Open a browser and go to either http://www.routerlogin.com or 192.168.1.1
4. The default username and password are
user
password
5. Navigate to Setup->Basic Settings
In Internet IP Address sect select Get Dynamically from ISP.
In Domain Name Server (DNS) Address select Use These DNS Server.
Primary DNS: 8.8.8.8
Secondary DNS: 8.8.4.4
Click Apply.
6. Navigate to Advanced->LAN Setup.
7. In LAN TCP/IP setup enter the IP address that you want AP1 to have.
Example: IP Address 192.168.1.12
Subnet Address 255.255.255.0
8. Uncheck Use Router as DHCP Server.
9. Click Apply
10. Plug ethernet cable from main router to any of the three remaining four ethernet ports on AP1.
NOTE: do NOT plug cable into AP1 Internet port which is color coded yellow. It will never be used will as an AP.
11. Power cycle AP1 by either pushing the power button off/on or unplugging/plug in the power supply.
12. In a browser go to IP address you assigned AP1. In my example go to 192.168.1.12.
13. Navigate to Setup->Wireless Settings. Make any preferred changes.
I want to broadcast both G and N both using WPA2-PSK [AES] security and provide passphrase.
For each check Enable SSID Broadcast
For each uncheck Enable Wireless Isolation
Change the name of the SSID to something other than the default.
Click Apply
14. Navigate to Setup->Guest Network b/g/n and make preferred changes.
I want to broadcast a guest b/g/n. Below is what I change.
Check Enable Guest Network.
Check Enable SSID Broadcast.
Check Allow guest to access My Local Network.
Change the Guest Wireless Network Name (SSID) to something else.
Change the security to WPA2-PSK [AES] and type in a passphrase.
Click Apply.
15. Navigate to Setup->Guest Network a/n and make preferred changes.


Final notes:

Two settings that drove me batty and prevented the AP1 from working all the way through:
1. Uncheck Enable Wireless Isolation in Wireless Settings or your wireless AP won't be able to access the internet. Your wired AP will work but wireless won't.
2. Check Allow guest to access My Local Network in Guest Network Settings or the guest computer won't be able to access the internet.
Make sure to change the default password to access AP1.
Maintenance->Set Password
Take backup of AP1 settings
Maintenance->Backup Settings
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 7th, 2011, 04:40 PM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNDR3700v2 Guest Network

reply to thread that is corresponded rather copy/paste to a thread does not answer to OP
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:16 PM.