Old April 1st, 2007, 01:52 AM
NETGEAR Newbie

whahppnd is on a distinguished road
Post WGR614v.7: ip got changed to 10.0.0.1

Newbie here, so pls. be gentle ..

In the midst of initial setup, I got a message saying that the router ip addr got changed to 10.0.0.1 to avoid ip conflict. I just want to understand why this happened, when my modem (SBC Speedstream 5100b) ip addr is 192.168.0.1 .. there shouldn't be any conflict.

Besides, the WGR614 v.7 I installed for my Mom earlier this yr .. the default router ip addr was 192.168.1.1. Shouldn't it be the same this time around? Now, the default ip gateway is also that strange 10.0.0.1 instead of the modem's 192.168.0.1.

I'm able to connect to the internet and also wirelessly on the lappy, so I shouldn't complain. I just want to know if this is all okay or am I going to have problems when I start networking other devices like a printer. Thanks.
Old April 1st, 2007, 05:01 PM

jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WGR614v.7: ip got changed to 10.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by whahppnd View Post
Newbie here, so pls. be gentle ..

In the midst of initial setup, I got a message saying that the router ip addr got changed to 10.0.0.1 to avoid ip conflict. I just want to understand why this happened, when my modem (SBC Speedstream 5100b) ip addr is 192.168.0.1 .. there shouldn't be any conflict.

Besides, the WGR614 v.7 I installed for my Mom earlier this yr .. the default router ip addr was 192.168.1.1. Shouldn't it be the same this time around? Now, the default ip gateway is also that strange 10.0.0.1 instead of the modem's 192.168.0.1.

I'm able to connect to the internet and also wirelessly on the lappy, so I shouldn't complain. I just want to know if this is all okay or am I going to have problems when I start networking other devices like a printer. Thanks.
in the middle of setup.. what were you doing. on your pc or in the rouer settings..