Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 21st, 2011, 12:50 PM
wan_ohh wan_ohh is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
wan_ohh is on a distinguished road
Default WNDR3700 vs. WNDR4000

What are the difference? Should I wait for the 4000 to get to market?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 21st, 2011, 01:12 PM
wan_ohh wan_ohh is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
wan_ohh is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3700 vs. WNDR4000

The differences I see is that one is 3700 is 300Mbps and the 4000 is 450Mbps. The 3700 has 16MB flash and the 4000 has 8MB of flash (why the decrease?). The 4000 also states 680MHz MIPS 32-bit processor, but dont know is that is different than the 3700.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 21st, 2011, 01:24 PM
jlewter jlewter is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,284
jlewter is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3700 vs. WNDR4000

If you compare the website and stuff that was posted on other forums...

The 3700 and 4000 are both dual band routers.
the 3700 is 300 meg on 2.4 and 300 meg on 5
the 4000 is 300 meg on 2.4 and 450 meg on 5

The 3700 and 4000 (from what I have seen) shares really similar firmware settings so unless it supports PAT, VLAN, or Multicast settings then there probably isnt going to be any difference in options.

The 3700 has two atheros radios..
The 4000 info hasnt been released, but they did say the processor speed was slower on one page, this could be an indication that they have gone with a whole new branch of CPU/Radio units.

I would be tempted to wait until the 4k's roll out, compare them, and then see how much the 3700/3700(v2)/37AV/3800's change price before buying the 4000. Few people will have 450 meg 11n cards, I think smallnetbuilder couldnt run a full review on some 3x3 units he had because he had issues with his 3x3 card..

So the biggest difference will probably be the extra bandwith on the 5ghz range. Design tweaks may make the signals better but we'll not know that until mastershake gets 20 or 30 to test for us ;P..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 21st, 2011, 06:11 PM
Simon0 Simon0 is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 891
Simon0 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3700 vs. WNDR4000

Quote:
Originally Posted by wan_ohh View Post
What are the difference? Should I wait for the 4000 to get to market?
The WNDR4000's model # is 300 points GREATER than the WNDR3700, so the WNDR4000 must be better..

I heard it is Broadcom based...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 22nd, 2011, 03:21 AM
jlewter jlewter is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,284
jlewter is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3700 vs. WNDR4000

n600 -vs- n750
the marketing (n) term for the 3700 changed from n300 early on.

It's worth noting that netgear (tho they dont make it overly visible) push n600 as a feature to say dual band 11n @ 300....

A few other routers say n600 on them
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 29th, 2011, 07:21 PM
KevTech KevTech is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 267
KevTech is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3700 vs. WNDR4000

Quote:
Originally Posted by wan_ohh View Post
The 4000 also states 680MHz MIPS 32-bit processor, but dont know is that is different than the 3700.
Over at ddwrt forum they have posted a serial boot log from a WNDR4000 and in that log it shows only a 480Mhz processor.


Quote:
CFE for WNDR4000 version: v1.0.4
Build Date: Tue Nov 30 17:04:18 CST 2010
Init Arena
Init Devs.
Boot partition size = 262144(0x40000)
Found an ST compatible serial flash with 128 64KB blocks; total size 8MB
et0: Broadcom BCM47XX 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet Controller 2010.09.30.0
CPU type 0x19740: 480MHz
Tot mem: 65536 KBytes
Source
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 29th, 2011, 07:40 PM
mastershake mastershake is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 570
mastershake is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3700 vs. WNDR4000

lol as i have posted so MANY times that is correct. its the SAME broadcomm chip as in the e4200. i forget who was arguing with me over this and swore they were right. it is not 680 and it is not 600 as others have posted.
__________________
Systems repair, network specialist and Netgear reseller / beta tester.

"Some days your the windshield. Some days your the bug"

Frylock: You know what tonight is?
Carl: Yeah the night I'm downloading porn at 14 kilobytes a second!
Carl: Ha! I'm just kidding. I got a netgear 4000 back here.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 29th, 2011, 08:03 PM
Simon0 Simon0 is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 891
Simon0 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3700 vs. WNDR4000

I believe in the beginning, some Netgear reps were claiming much higher clock frequencies than what was actually present. Even though the clock freq is alot lower but the Broadcoms are quite efficient, nevertheless... The Atheros chips are also alot cheaper, guess that's why were having so many different models of Atheros routers.

In short, to get higher wireless dual-band and multi-spatial stream speeds/coverage plus higher USB speeds, they are definitely going to have to go dual-core...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:06 AM.