Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 21st, 2011, 07:07 PM
Sineira Sineira is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 17
Sineira is on a distinguished road
Default WPS process is in progress, please apply the changes later.

This is seriously retarded. Why on earth can't I change wireless settings when WPS is in progress? I'm the admin!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 21st, 2011, 08:48 PM
Sineira Sineira is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 17
Sineira is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPS process is in progress, please apply the changes later.

I can't find a way to make changes to my wireless settings now, I always get this message. Have tried to power off/on the router.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 22nd, 2011, 11:20 AM
N6AC N6AC is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 49
N6AC is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPS process is in progress, please apply the changes later.

I am not even using WPS, but I get this message, and thus cannot Apply changes to my Security settings. I tried turning OFF the wireless using the switch on the front, no help.
Anybody know how to get around this?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 22nd, 2011, 11:28 AM
N6AC N6AC is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 49
N6AC is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPS process is in progress, please apply the changes later.

Well, I went to "Add WPS Client" and then cancelled, and after that I was able to proceed with changes in Wireless Settings.
Some messages pop up that are NOT show-stoppers, like the one about having only one WEP channel.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 23rd, 2011, 06:05 AM
Sineira Sineira is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 17
Sineira is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPS process is in progress, please apply the changes later.

That worked!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 8th, 2011, 06:37 PM
peter_mcrae peter_mcrae is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
peter_mcrae is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPS process is in progress, please apply the changes later.

I had the same problem. The WPS button on the front of the router got jammed and the WPS process was continuously running and froze the router.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 4th, 2012, 10:54 AM
SolarCat SolarCat is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
SolarCat is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPS process is in progress, please apply the changes later.

I upgraded to firmware V1.1.1.58, which has a new GUI, and I can't for the life of me find a button or link labelled "Add WPS Client" in order to use this workaround. (I'm trying to disable the router's PIN for better security, as recommended in recent security alerts, and it won't let me apply that change.)

Can anyone lead me by the hand to finding "Add WPS Client" in the new GUI?

Thanks much.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 4th, 2012, 01:19 PM
N6AC N6AC is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 49
N6AC is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPS process is in progress, please apply the changes later.

V1.1.1.58 ??? Is that for WNDR3700 V1 hardware ?
On v1.0.16.98, "Add WPS Client" is upper left in the blue sidebar, just below "Setup Wizard" ...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 4th, 2012, 02:51 PM
SolarCat SolarCat is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
SolarCat is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPS process is in progress, please apply the changes later.

Sorry, I posted on the wrong router's board after finding this thread via Google. My router is a WNR2000v3.

Thanks for your answer. It actually led me to the solution on my router, which is to click the "WPS Wizard" button in the left-hand column. This initiates the process to add a client and lets you choose to do it manually, which can then be cancelled. The same workaround applies. I was able to save my setting.

Thanks again.

Last edited by Mars Mug; January 19th, 2014 at 10:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 31st, 2012, 04:21 PM
rmhartman rmhartman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
rmhartman is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPS process is in progress, please apply the changes later.

Thanks for the info. The "cancel" trick worked. Would still like to know just why it thinks it's in the middle of the WPS process when nobody started one ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by N6AC View Post
Well, I went to "Add WPS Client" and then cancelled, and after that I was able to proceed with changes in Wireless Settings.
Some messages pop up that are NOT show-stoppers, like the one about having only one WEP channel.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:14 AM.