#11  
Old March 2nd, 2011, 12:41 PM
NatRay's Avatar
NatRay NatRay is offline
Senior Member
Advanced NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Posts: 893
NatRay is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Re: WPS light on all the time

Quote:
Originally Posted by quagmire View Post
To disable WPS . . .
Thanks quagmire . . . That works! Proving once again, know one knows it all
__________________
Best regards,
Nat Ray MCSE/MCT since 1997
_______________________
Cox Communications > SB6120 DOCSIS 3.0 > WNDR3700v1 (4), WNDR3400v2 (2), WPN824v2 (2), R7000, RT-N66R *AP(s) via Wired Backbone* > Ooma Telo / D-Link DGS-1024D > NeoTV-550 (3) . . .** HPEnvy800 -PHX **
DD-WRT v24-SP2 (12/14/11) std. Build 18007
Optimize your network: Disable IPv6 . . . Post responsibly . . .
‘Quality trumps Quantity’
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old March 2nd, 2011, 01:16 PM
RocketJSquirrel RocketJSquirrel is offline
Senior Member
Advanced NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California, USA
Posts: 144
RocketJSquirrel is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPS light on all the time

Quote:
Originally Posted by quagmire View Post
To disable WPS, just press the WPS button on the front panel.
You are correct, sir. I thought I had already tried this without success. Seems obvious in hindsight.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old March 2nd, 2011, 02:34 PM
Devor's Avatar
Devor Devor is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ffynnon Garw
Posts: 1,997
Devor is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPS light on all the time

Thanks quagmire. I hope it survives a power cycle and stays off.
__________________
WNDR3700v1 (v1.0.7.98NA)
Router uptime (d:h:m:s): 1050:08:34:23

--
How To Check and Change Your Router's Firmware:
http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=63234
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old March 2nd, 2011, 02:52 PM
Sander71 Sander71 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 34
Sander71 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPS light on all the time

Another front panel button related issue :

Even if wireless has been configured to only use the 2.4Ghz band, after having switched off the wireless via the front panel (as the environment loving man i am), when you switch it back on, it doesn't care about your configuration and will always switch both 2.4 & 5Ghz bands on. Not environment friendly !
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old March 2nd, 2011, 03:02 PM
RocketJSquirrel RocketJSquirrel is offline
Senior Member
Advanced NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California, USA
Posts: 144
RocketJSquirrel is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPS light on all the time

Quote:
Originally Posted by Devor View Post
Thanks quagmire. I hope it survives a power cycle and stays off.
Nope. It comes back on.

This router sure is programmed strangely.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old March 2nd, 2011, 03:13 PM
Devor's Avatar
Devor Devor is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ffynnon Garw
Posts: 1,997
Devor is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPS light on all the time

Well that's disappointing. Not sure why it would default on, when it's usefulness is limited to those few times the user needs it and having it running constantly seems wasteful.
__________________
WNDR3700v1 (v1.0.7.98NA)
Router uptime (d:h:m:s): 1050:08:34:23

--
How To Check and Change Your Router's Firmware:
http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=63234
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old March 2nd, 2011, 04:57 PM
Devor's Avatar
Devor Devor is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ffynnon Garw
Posts: 1,997
Devor is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPS light on all the time

You don't have to power cycle for it to come back on, I hit the "Apply" button under wireless and it's back on.
__________________
WNDR3700v1 (v1.0.7.98NA)
Router uptime (d:h:m:s): 1050:08:34:23

--
How To Check and Change Your Router's Firmware:
http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=63234
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old March 2nd, 2011, 05:13 PM
RocketJSquirrel RocketJSquirrel is offline
Senior Member
Advanced NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California, USA
Posts: 144
RocketJSquirrel is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPS light on all the time

Quote:
Originally Posted by Devor View Post
Well that's disappointing. Not sure why it would default on, when it's usefulness is limited to those few times the user needs it and having it running constantly seems wasteful.
Manual say:

Quote:
While the WPS LED is blinking, you have 2 minutes to enable WPS on the device you are
connecting to. The blinking ceases when one of these two conditions occurs:
• WPS has enabled security between the router and the other device.The router has
generated an SSID, implemented WPA/WPA2 wireless security (including a PSK security
password) on the router and has sent this configuration to the wireless client.
• If you do not establish a connection using WPS during this 2-minute interval, your router
security and SSID (wireless network name) will still be configured for WPA/WPA2
security.
The WPS LED will stop blinking or turn off, depending on how you have them configured.
English not native tongue, kimosabe? Nowhere in manual tell how to configure them to turn off.

But seriously, I doubt the WPS is doing anything when the LED isn't blinking. I think it's just a programming error that it stays on forever if the button has been pushed even once.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old March 2nd, 2011, 05:29 PM
curlysir curlysir is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 44
curlysir is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPS light on all the time

When I first got my 3700 the light would not come on after a reset. One of the FW updates changed this and it has stayed that way. Pushing the WPS button will cause it to blink and go off.

This was discussed at some length here when it first occurred.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old March 2nd, 2011, 05:43 PM
curlysir curlysir is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 44
curlysir is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPS light on all the time

Here are some of the previous discussions, started with 4.68 I think.

http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread...ight=WPS+light

http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread...ight=WPS+light

http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=52899&page=8
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:29 AM.