#1  
Old March 2nd, 2011, 04:16 PM
JoeKelley3 JoeKelley3 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
JoeKelley3 is on a distinguished road
Default WN2000RPT Connects to network but no internet

I bought a WN2000RPT Universal WiFi Range Extender because my connection from my Linksys WRT54G wireless router has a hard time reaching my room. I am having issues with setting up the extender.

I placed the extender midway between my Laptop and Router as I was instructed. I follow all of the steps to setting it up but for some reason I get to the part where it asks me to connect to the Extender with the security settings I have applied then to click the button on the Smart Wizard browser page but I can connect to the Extender network but cannot get internet access which proceeds to fail to allow me to make use of my extender.

It also tells me that the connection(or network) is no longer available and that I should move my extender closer to my router or gateway. I tried that, it was 3 feet away and I still received the same message.

Any help is appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 2nd, 2011, 05:32 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WN2000RPT Connects to network but no internet

WN2000RPT is N base but they should be still compatible with legacy G router.

did you try different encryption such as WPA, WPA2?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 2nd, 2011, 06:32 PM
JoeKelley3 JoeKelley3 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
JoeKelley3 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WN2000RPT Connects to network but no internet

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
WN2000RPT is N base but they should be still compatible with legacy G router.

did you try different encryption such as WPA, WPA2?
I figured out the issue. My Linksys Router is in WPA security which apparently the Netgear WN2000RPT is not compatible with. Could you answer this question:

Is it possible to have my Linksys router on WPA Security while the Netgear Extender is in WEP?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 2nd, 2011, 06:34 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WN2000RPT Connects to network but no internet

have you try WPA2? or WPA is highest you can use?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 2nd, 2011, 06:57 PM
JoeKelley3 JoeKelley3 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
JoeKelley3 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WN2000RPT Connects to network but no internet

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
have you try WPA2? or WPA is highest you can use?
Yes I can switch to WPA 2 Personal. If I make the switch to WPA 2 will that/should that fix my problem?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 2nd, 2011, 07:01 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WN2000RPT Connects to network but no internet

what option you have left?..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 2nd, 2011, 08:18 PM
JoeKelley3 JoeKelley3 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
JoeKelley3 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WN2000RPT Connects to network but no internet

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
what option you have left?..
It worked. But then I messed it up when I went into my Router settings and disabled the WPA Security completely for my DS. I now have to reset the extender to factory default and start it all over again. It's late so I will do it tomorrow. I will let you know how that goes tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 3rd, 2011, 12:05 PM
JoeKelley3 JoeKelley3 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
JoeKelley3 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WN2000RPT Connects to network but no internet

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKelley3 View Post
It worked. But then I messed it up when I went into my Router settings and disabled the WPA Security completely for my DS. I now have to reset the extender to factory default and start it all over again. It's late so I will do it tomorrow. I will let you know how that goes tomorrow.
UPDATE: Following from my previous post. I was able to set it up again and it works great. The only cons to this Extender is that my brothers PSP cannot connect to neither the Extender nor the Linksys Router because those don't support the WPA 2 Security. The other con is that in order for my DS to connect to WiFi I need to disconnect from the Extender network, connect to the Linksys network, disable the WPA, and connect to the WiFi on my DS. Once I am finished I need to re-enable the WPA and then disconnect from the Linksys network, and connect to the Extender network. It takes around 3-5 minutes, give or take the time it takes to connect as sometimes it won't connect to internet(my original problem) but then randomly will connect to the internet.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 3rd, 2011, 04:24 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WN2000RPT Connects to network but no internet

you may just need to place two access point so that you can use both.

wireless are not all created equal to work with all on single settings
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 5th, 2011, 04:51 AM
Smackowv Smackowv is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Smackowv is on a distinguished road
Smile Re: WN2000RPT Connects to network but no internet

Ahh but to have found this thread a month ago! Weeks of support calls with Netgear and all I needed was a static IP for the extender!!! Everytime I tried to connect with an Apple product the internet connection failed. When I added a static IP on the Linksys Router for the Extender - fixed!!! Thank you so much!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:56 PM.