#1  
Old March 7th, 2011, 04:59 AM
jsteng jsteng is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 21
jsteng is on a distinguished road
Default How many connections can WNDR3700 handle?

Is there a limit as to the number of devices the WNDR3700 allows?

Since purchasing this device last July 2010 to date, I could only manage to connect 5 devices to it via WIFI. After that, its frustrating!

I have used 4.68, 4.75 and 7.98 with same results!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 7th, 2011, 05:14 AM
htismaqe's Avatar
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,144
htismaqe is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How many connections can WNDR3700 handle?

All on the same radio?

I currently have 3 devices connected to the 5Ghz band and 5 devices on the 2.4Ghz band.

I've had as many as 14 devices connected to the 2.4Ghz band at one time.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 7th, 2011, 06:55 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How many connections can WNDR3700 handle?

Most model can handle more 25 (old router spec up to 24) wifi connection repetitively but more wifi devices is connected you also will reduce the performance....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 7th, 2011, 11:34 AM
jsteng jsteng is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 21
jsteng is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How many connections can WNDR3700 handle?

Quote:
Originally Posted by htismaqe View Post
All on the same radio?

I currently have 3 devices connected to the 5Ghz band and 5 devices on the 2.4Ghz band.

I've had as many as 14 devices connected to the 2.4Ghz band at one time.
All are connected to 2.4G.

I am using:
WPA2-PSK [AES]
Up to 130Mbps (I also tried Up to 300Mbps initially)
Channel 6 (it was on Auto previously - there is a WRT54G DD-WRT on Repeater Mode to WNDR3700)

I am aware that more connections will degrade quality of connection. However, most of the devices (such as iPad, mobile phones, etc on idle) are not "actively" routing any data. At most there are only 2-3 machines that are actively using the network. Thus I am curious how I could not get more than 5-6 connections.

Right now, I am seriously considering flashing DD-WRT onto the WNDR...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 8th, 2011, 02:49 PM
jsteng jsteng is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 21
jsteng is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How many connections can WNDR3700 handle?

SIGH!

I think WNDR3700's WPA2 AES is not standard - OR my devices are not compatible with WNDR3700's security.

I tried WPA2-AES from 300Mbps down to 54Mbps and my devices are having problem connecting - YET at the same time, I can connect to a WRT54G+DD-WRT on WPA2-AES without problem.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 8th, 2011, 03:44 PM
htismaqe's Avatar
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,144
htismaqe is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How many connections can WNDR3700 handle?

Interesting.

I have some very old, el cheapo devices (ie. Xterasys XN-2423G) that work fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:14 AM.