Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 19th, 2011, 03:53 PM
wirelessstore wirelessstore is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
wirelessstore is on a distinguished road
Default sony bravia wireless & netgear

I had a belkin router and I had no problems connecting my bravia to internet. I had router problems so we bought a netgear wnr2000v3. all our computers, wii and ps3 hooked up fine, but my bravia with wireless will not work. it sees router but will not obtain and ip address. please help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 19th, 2011, 05:05 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,267
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: sony bravia wireless & netgear

if encryption works then try setup static IP on sony side which is outside of DHCP range for router. (router interface>lan setup)
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 4th, 2011, 01:29 PM
don303030 don303030 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
don303030 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: sony bravia wireless & netgear

Hi there
I have been pulling my hair out for several hours trying to connect my new bravia tv to wifi. I can connect via ethernet cable but not wifi.
I have a netgear wnr2000 router. I have put the tv MAC address into router, I have tried disabling all security in router but with no joy. I have tried entering the pin no, using the WPS button and scan but no joy. I have moved my tv beside the router as it was in another room. I have a full signal.
connection results are
wireless device on tv.... found,
local access ....failed,
internet access.....failed
I am ok working around the router but please explain in a little detail if you have any advice for me. it would be very much appreciated

thanx

doney
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 4th, 2011, 02:58 PM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,450
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: sony bravia wireless & netgear

Quote:
Originally Posted by don303030 View Post
I have put the tv MAC address into router,
If you are using a wireless access list then try disabling it.
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 4th, 2011, 03:02 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,267
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: sony bravia wireless & netgear

Not only disable to use access list , change to 54 Mbps setting in the router as well
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 5th, 2011, 10:12 AM
don303030 don303030 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
don303030 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: sony bravia wireless & netgear

hi jmizoguchi
meant to say Im using a sony dongle usb to connect wifi. when you say Not only disable to use access list , do you mean remove the tv mac address from list.

cheers

donal
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 5th, 2011, 10:15 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,267
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: sony bravia wireless & netgear

These are all router settings, other than static ip on on tv
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 5th, 2011, 11:58 AM
don303030 don303030 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
don303030 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: sony bravia wireless & netgear

Hey Man it worked
fair play another happy customer...till the next time

thanx
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 5th, 2011, 12:31 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,267
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: sony bravia wireless & netgear

Nice to hear that.. Enjoy
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 8th, 2011, 11:45 AM
don303030 don303030 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
don303030 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: sony bravia wireless & netgear

Hi Jmizoguchi
back sooner than expected, see if you can shead any light on this.
Basicially I cant access the web on the tv.
using netgear wnr2000 and sony usb dongle.
tv is sony bravia kdl37ex723.
I can view the Bravia Internet tv and use widgits.
when I click on the internet browser I am taken straight to sony web site.
I cant get out beyond this site.
Basicially I want to surf the web on the tv and stream movies from my pc.
Is this a possibility or do I need more hardware.
cheers

donal
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:01 AM.