#1  
Old March 22nd, 2011, 04:13 AM
WirthmU WirthmU is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
WirthmU is on a distinguished road
Default Powerline Utility Failure

Powerline utility (V.2.0.0.8) after installation fails to run with the following error:

>>>>>
Microsoft Visual C++ Debug Library

Debug error!
Program:...TGEAR\NETGEAR Powerline Utility\NETGEAR_Powerline_Utility.exe

This application has requested the Runtime to terminate in an unusual way.
Please contact the application's support team for more information.

(Press Retry to debug the application)
<<<<<<

The PC runs windows 7 32-bit.

De-installation and re-install did not resolve this problem!

Any other help would be greatly appreciated

Thanks

UW
Retry does not lead to anything better
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 22nd, 2011, 07:17 AM
gmos gmos is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
gmos is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Powerline Utility Failure

This won't solve your problem but I have exactly the same issue and have tried the installation on 2 different PC's using XP and Vista with the same result.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 22nd, 2011, 07:26 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Powerline Utility Failure

try run as winxp compatibly mode . right click on program and you can change that .

also install as ' admin but right click on setup file *.exe . Even account is admin , sometime you need to run as admin as well
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 22nd, 2011, 07:28 AM
gmos gmos is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
gmos is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Powerline Utility Failure

I don't know if this is relevant but I have a Thomson TG585 V7 router, do you have the same by any chance? As the error is occuring whilst the detection phase in progress it could be.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 22nd, 2011, 11:33 AM
CRpwrline CRpwrline is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 19
CRpwrline is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Powerline Utility Failure

I have tried XP compatibility mode...does not help. I have tried 3 different compatibility modes (XP various and Vista); no luck. Every once in a while, I can launch the utility, but when I do so it does not let me assign powerline network password. I have had this issue in front of Netgear tech support for several days. They have yet to address it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 25th, 2011, 02:20 AM
gmos gmos is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
gmos is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Powerline Utility Failure

I have solved the problem by just disconnecting the network cable from the router. As soon as I did this the devices were detected and are configurable. Re-connected cable and all works Ok.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 25th, 2011, 04:15 PM
CRpwrline CRpwrline is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 19
CRpwrline is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Powerline Utility Failure

A caveat or two:

Not consistent: sometimes this bypasses the run-time error, sometimes not, although it seems to improve the odds.

Make sure the PC where you are launching the utility is hooked up to the powerline unit that would talk to the router. This is important if you intend to set encryption for your network since the base unit does not get the encryption.

If you have an xavn2001 wireless going, make sure your PC has wireless turned off or it will go to that unit as the base.

I did, finally, get encryption to take on the powerline network. After spending a fruitless hour or so on the phone with Netgear (runtime issue is being escalated, will share the results of the call-back), I gave it one last shot doing exactly what I had done many times before. This time it took...go figure.

Still, there is clearly a software issue here that needs some debugging...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 28th, 2011, 06:57 PM
CRpwrline CRpwrline is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 19
CRpwrline is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Powerline Utility Failure

I was promised a call back about the utility issue several days ago. Still haven't gotten one. The issue was being 'escalated'. It would be refreshing for Netgear to acknowledge that there is a problem and that they are working on it. I think I need to post some cautions on Amazon and NewEgg, places where I bought some of this stuff...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 8th, 2011, 08:09 PM
CRpwrline CRpwrline is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 19
CRpwrline is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Powerline Utility Failure--interesting resolution

I recently had occasion to retire my d-link 655 router and replace it with a Cisco/Linksys 3000. Suddenly no problem...why one router should trigger a C++ error in the Netgear utility and another one should not is interesting...btw: the d-link router is not ancient technology...it would not be reasonable for Netgear to test their products with all the routers that they could be talking to, but maybe a list of 'we know this works' would be possible...of course, that could restrict sales to people who have equipment not on the list...end-users are often in involuntary data testers...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:02 AM.