Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 21st, 2011, 02:14 PM
gr8whyt gr8whyt is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
gr8whyt is on a distinguished road
Default Not Showing Attached Devices

My first post, so pardon if this has been asked and answered...I couldn't find anything on a search.

The router works great and I've had no problem with it. But when I go into the router manager software, Maintenance section, Attached Devices, nothing ever is shown. Am I doing something wrong. Thanks for any help.

-- gr8whyt
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 22nd, 2011, 03:40 AM
gr8whyt gr8whyt is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
gr8whyt is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Not Showing Attached Devices

Quote:
Originally Posted by gr8whyt View Post
My first post, so pardon if this has been asked and answered...I couldn't find anything on a search.

The router works great and I've had no problem with it. But when I go into the router manager software, Maintenance section, Attached Devices, nothing ever is shown. Am I doing something wrong. Thanks for any help.

-- gr8whyt
I guess I should add this is a WNDR3700v2 with the latest updates.

-- gr8whyt
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 23rd, 2011, 03:21 AM
Vaden Vaden is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Vaden is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Not Showing Attached Devices

I got my WNDR3700v2 2 days ago, its much faster than my old DLINK but I have this issue as well. It showed all connected clients on the first day but not anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 23rd, 2011, 03:44 AM
gr8whyt gr8whyt is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
gr8whyt is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Not Showing Attached Devices

I wonder if it's because I'm running the admin wirelessly. It's a bit of a PITA to connect by wire. If that's the reason, why?

-- gr8whyt
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 23rd, 2011, 05:43 AM
gferg gferg is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 8
gferg is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Not Showing Attached Devices

Hello, Several of us have experienced an ongoing problem with attached devices. I have not seen a fix for the problem. But you can possibly see the devices if you right click on the empty attached devices chart and choose to view frame source...it will show the mac address of devices which are currently attached (at least it worked for me).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 25th, 2011, 05:52 AM
ABalthazor ABalthazor is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4
ABalthazor is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Not Showing Attached Devices

This is pretty annoying. It makes doing DHCP reservations a little bit of a pain.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 25th, 2011, 06:03 AM
fordem fordem is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6,982
fordem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Not Showing Attached Devices

Reboot the device you want to do a reservation on - it will probably show immediately and continue to do so for several minutes.

I'm assuming that this router behaves as many of the others do - devices not shown in the attached devices listing has been an issue, and is caused by the method used to extract the information - Netgear seems to use the router's arp cache, and that only shows devices which are currently active - if the device is attached and inactive, the cache entry will be purged at some point.

There are other ways to extract this information, but none of them are 100% reliable.
__________________
Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 25th, 2011, 06:20 AM
ABalthazor ABalthazor is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4
ABalthazor is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Not Showing Attached Devices

Quote:
Originally Posted by fordem View Post
Reboot the device you want to do a reservation on - it will probably show immediately and continue to do so for several minutes.

I'm assuming that this router behaves as many of the others do - devices not shown in the attached devices listing has been an issue, and is caused by the method used to extract the information - Netgear seems to use the router's arp cache, and that only shows devices which are currently active - if the device is attached and inactive, the cache entry will be purged at some point.

There are other ways to extract this information, but none of them are 100% reliable.
Does Netgear have a formal way of reporting issues like this? While I generally like the performance of this router, I don't think we should have to resort to workarounds for things like this.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old April 29th, 2011, 09:43 AM
davejo davejo is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 9
davejo is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Not Showing Attached Devices

I'm pretty sure my devices showed up prior to the V1.0.7.98 firmware update...I'm thinking of going backwards with the firmware as I could see no real benefit of the updated version as I don't use the guest account or the USB either.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old April 29th, 2011, 09:56 AM
davejo davejo is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 9
davejo is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Not Showing Attached Devices

Ok an update on my last post a few minutes ago. It's definately firmware thats causing the roblem.

I have just re-installed V1.0.4.68 and I can see all attached devices.

So if you really need to see the attached devices I suggest you do the same.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:12 AM.