#1  
Old April 27th, 2011, 08:54 AM
mlocher mlocher is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 12
mlocher is on a distinguished road
Default VPN Access, WNR2000v3

Hello,

Need some help. Full disclosure: though I'm a reasonably PC-savvy guy, networks have never been my strong suit. I don't have a great grasp of the mechanics of routers and connectivity issues. Some of the terminology eludes me, so, please be patient.

Here's the situation: for years, I've had my wife's PC configured to access the VPN of a university I attended; gives her remote access to research materials and whatnot. I have the login information saved in a connection option; she opens it, clicks CONNECT, and the dialog "Connecting to vpn.xxx.xxx.xxx using "WAN Miniport (PPTP)..." launches, validates my account, and we're in. Takes seconds.

No problems for years with the last two pieces of home networking hardware I've used (an old Netgear router, a Linksys router, and most recently, a wireless transmitting router/modem from Verizon FIOS, in that order).

A move required a switch from Verizon to Comcast, and the purchase of a new wireless router for home use. I purchased a Netgear WNR2000v3, and now, we can't seem to log onto the VPN when connected wirelessly to the internet.

Proceeds as follows:

Connecting to XXX VPN dialog launches, and reads:
"Connecting to vpn.xxx.xxx.xxx using 'WAN Miniport (PPTP)'..."
After a minute or so, it reads "Verifying user name and Password"
Then it reads, "Connecting to vpn.xxx.xxx.xxx using 'WAN Miniport (SSTP)'..."
After another minute or so, it reads "Verifying Username and Password" again.
Then it reads, "Connecting to vpn.xxx.xxx.xxx using 'WAN Miniport (L2TP)'..."

Then, it displays the following:

Error 800: The remote connection was not made because the attempted VPN tunnels failed. The VPN server might be unreachable. If this connection is attempting to use an L2TP/IPsec tunnel, the security parameters required for IPsec negotiation might note be configured properly.

YES, the VPN is accessible if I bypass the router and plug directly into our COMCAST-supplied cable modem.

I've done enough casual research to identify that there's some sort of issue with ports, passthroughs, or the like, but I can't seem to identify where, or how, in my router setup to begin to address the issue. Need help.

Anyone? Thanks in advance.
Running Windows 7 Home Edition.

- Michael
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 27th, 2011, 09:09 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: VPN Access, WNR2000v3

try disable SPI under WAN setup
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 27th, 2011, 09:17 AM
mlocher mlocher is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 12
mlocher is on a distinguished road
Default Re: VPN Access, WNR2000v3

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
try disable SPI under WAN setup
Thanks, much appreciated!

Checked "Disable SPI;" unfortunately, still no access. What about NAT Filtering? Secured, or open?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 27th, 2011, 09:51 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: VPN Access, WNR2000v3

most home end should have VPN passthrough enable in the firmware and not as an option but you might also try putting PC on DMZ from the router and try it
and possible that you may need to forward the ports for vpn client.

see portfoward.com. if you don't have same model,look other model within the netgear model listed with wnrxxx
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 27th, 2011, 10:09 AM
mlocher mlocher is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 12
mlocher is on a distinguished road
Default Re: VPN Access, WNR2000v3

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
most home end should have VPN passthrough enable in the firmware and not as an option but you might also try putting PC on DMZ from the router and try it
and possible that you may need to forward the ports for vpn client.

see portfoward.com. if you don't have same model,look other model within the netgear model listed with wnrxxx
Thanks again. I'm not sure how to go about what you're describing, though.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 27th, 2011, 10:33 AM
mlocher mlocher is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 12
mlocher is on a distinguished road
Default Re: VPN Access, WNR2000v3

June, I believe I set up the DMZ by checking "Default DMZ Server" under WAN Setup in the router, and entering this machine's IP.

Still doesn't work. What else could I try? How do I engage in port forwarding?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 27th, 2011, 12:53 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: VPN Access, WNR2000v3

go to portforward.com as I stated earlier
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 27th, 2011, 02:33 PM
mlocher mlocher is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 12
mlocher is on a distinguished road
Default Re: VPN Access, WNR2000v3

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
go to portforward.com as I stated earlier
Thanks for the tip, June--though I was hoping for a strategic solution, rather than one that will cost me (ie, a software purchase).

I'd just like this Netgear hardware to function properly. Considering I'd had no issues with this VPN across other wireless access points, I'd think there's simply a way to fix this.

No?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old April 27th, 2011, 02:39 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: VPN Access, WNR2000v3

Do not cost anything to get setup info

You need to skip the ads.!!!!! That sell service you saw!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:44 PM.