#1  
Old June 1st, 2011, 03:13 AM
zanat0s zanat0s is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
zanat0s is on a distinguished road
Default How to use the WNDR as an extender for my wireless

Hi all,

I have a DSL line. My modem/router is Belkin PlayMax. I have wireless network operated by my Belkin.

I want to setup my Gigabit N600 router from netgear to operate as a range extender(access point?) so i can have the same network but with expanded range.

My netgear is connected through wires to my belkin(my house has extensions everywhere). I want to have the same network duplicated so i can improve performance.

i hope that is enough for the description. Can you let me know how to achieve that?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 1st, 2011, 05:24 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to use the WNDR as an extender for my wireless

belkin MUST have WDS (wireless distribution system) which doubt to have have to for repeat

if not , look at wnce2001, wn2000rpt, wn3000rp extnder
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 1st, 2011, 08:09 AM
zanat0s zanat0s is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
zanat0s is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to use the WNDR as an extender for my wireless

how do i can find out whether to know they have it?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 1st, 2011, 08:12 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to use the WNDR as an extender for my wireless

call belkin support or look in the belkin interface..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 1st, 2011, 08:31 AM
jlewter jlewter is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,299
jlewter is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to use the WNDR as an extender for my wireless

If the 3700 is connected via LAN to his Belkin then I would just set up the router as follows.

1) SAME SSID
2) SAME Speed (if possible)
3) SAME PSK


Devicess should migrate from one device to another.
If they have different speeds set then all devices may try to stick to the one it thinks is fastest (tho I cant be sure, I dont know how the choice logic works on these things).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 1st, 2011, 08:36 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to use the WNDR as an extender for my wireless

Quote:
Originally Posted by zanat0s View Post
how do i can find out whether to know they have it?
I was on the phone so missed dew things

Correct setup is

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/965

This will make the both router on same network.

Far as same SSID , same encryption is your choice. If you are not going to roam, you can use different SSID name as well
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:10 PM.