Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 1st, 2011, 12:50 PM
smithphilip1 smithphilip1 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Norfolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 35
smithphilip1 is on a distinguished road
Question Mtu

Why can't I set MTU as 1500? 1458 Max?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 1st, 2011, 05:40 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 94,009
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Mtu

1492 or 1500 is common default value but makes any huge differences because you can not use 1500
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 3rd, 2011, 02:32 PM
Scubbie's Avatar
Scubbie Scubbie is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,109
Scubbie is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Mtu

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
1492 or 1500 is common default value but makes any huge differences because you can not use 1500
Sorry, but with PPPoA, I can only set mine to a maximum of 1458 too.

If I change to PPPoE the router will allow me to to set the MTU to 1492.

My ISP uses an MTU value of 1500.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 3rd, 2011, 02:37 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 94,009
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Mtu

And you see actual performance degration?
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 3rd, 2011, 02:56 PM
Scubbie's Avatar
Scubbie Scubbie is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,109
Scubbie is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Mtu

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
And you see actual performance degration?
Yes.

Following a call on Friday, it is currently set to 1400 as I have been experiencing lots of problems with the connection not being very stable using the default value of 1458.

Whilst I've been doing other things this weekend, and not hammering my LAN or Internet connection, it has at least stayed stable during this time.

Even the person on the support desk didn't realise that I couldn't set the MTU to 1492.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:53 PM.