#1  
Old July 25th, 2011, 07:46 AM
artesian79 artesian79 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
artesian79 is on a distinguished road
Question Printing doesn't work if connected via wireless

I bought a WNDR3700 to add wireless capabilities to my hardwired network as the family started moving to laptops. I have a problem with printing.

When connected via a wireless connection to the router, neither laptop can print. The document shows in the printer's queue, but goes to an error state. This is true for 2 different printers wired to the router via 2 different print servers. If the laptops are connected to the router via hardwire, printing is not a problem. The laptops are Vista, and WIN7.

Prior to using the WNDR3700 for wireless connection, I used a DLINK Travel Router as an AP to a Linksys router and was able to print just fine.

Can someone help resolve this?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 25th, 2011, 09:16 AM
searay's Avatar
searay searay is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 3,293
searay is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Printing doesn't work if connected via wireless

Check the "wireless isolation option" in the wireless setup menu?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 25th, 2011, 01:34 PM
artesian79 artesian79 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
artesian79 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Printing doesn't work if connected via wireless

Interesting.... That option was checked so I tried it with the option not selected. The printing works now from wireless!!!

I had set it up like that so that in the event someone hacked into my network, they'd only be able to get to the Internet and not any of the clients (thinking PCs and Servers).

Is there any way to have both functionalities?

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 25th, 2011, 04:10 PM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Printing doesn't work if connected via wireless

You can not have both function trying to isolate on single wireless connectivity.

That is why there is guest network and primary wireless

Using WPA2 will unlikely to be hack that easy.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 25th, 2011, 05:40 PM
searay's Avatar
searay searay is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 3,293
searay is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Printing doesn't work if connected via wireless

By not broadcasting your SSID and running the output as low as possible you would make it more difficult for someone. Use the mac filtering option too. Use the radio turn off option to shut it down when everyone is in bed.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 25th, 2011, 07:39 PM
artesian79 artesian79 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
artesian79 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Printing doesn't work if connected via wireless

searay:

Thanks for your response. I've been working on collecting MAC addresses this evening since I won't be able to count on the wireless isolation function. I'm planning to shutdown the SSID broadcast too.

Is there a radio button on the router itself, or are you talking about getting into the management console to turn it/them off.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 25th, 2011, 07:48 PM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Printing doesn't work if connected via wireless

http://support.netgear.com/app/answe...ail/a_id/17705
pdf page 8..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 25th, 2011, 07:48 PM
artesian79 artesian79 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
artesian79 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Printing doesn't work if connected via wireless

jmizoguchi:

Thanks for your response. I'm not sure I understand how the guest network and Primary wireless would allow be to block unwanted access. Can you expand a bit?

My hope had been to allow my household full access (internet/servers/printers) and if someone "outside" hopped on that they wouldn't be able to access our PCs and servers.

During the holidays when more people are around and I don't want to collect all those MACs), I'd planned to open the Guest access, but only then.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:48 AM.