#1  
Old July 27th, 2011, 04:00 PM
davidnoconnection davidnoconnection is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
davidnoconnection is on a distinguished road
Default WN3000RP Can't connect to internet

OK, so i've searched previous posts but not been able to find the specific information that i need.

so, i bought the WN3000RP today and went ahead with manual setup. I followed the five steps and recieved a Congratulations for having sucsessfully completed setup. The connection showed my old wireles connection with ending _EXT and 5 bars on it. But trying to go online didn't work and i noticed that it actually says "local network".

Next I reset the netgear and tried with the WPS since i discovered that my verizon router has one of those buttons, but this didn't work. it never changed from "Netgear_ext" to my own network name ending with ext.

The guy in technical support says that what happened was that i went to get firmware updates (which the setup wiz prompts to do right after set up) and that because of this the gear got damaged because "the netgear extender needs to be hardwired when recieving updates or it will get dammaged", which struck me as an extreemely strange explanation. does anyone know if this could possibly be true? He says that i need to trade it for a new one and try again, but why would it work the second time, and what could i do differently (exept not pressing yes when asked about updates)?

Can someone help me out?

My computers: PC laptop windows7, and PC laptop windows vista

My wifes computer: macintosh laptop (tried manual setup from this one too, after factory resetting)

Router: Verizon, Vestell mod# A90-750015-07

thanks

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 27th, 2011, 07:55 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WN3000RP Can't connect to internet

Quote:
so, i bought the WN3000RP today and went ahead with manual setup. I followed the five steps and recieved a Congratulations for having sucsessfully completed setup. The connection showed my old wireles connection with ending _EXT and 5 bars on it. But trying to go online didn't work and i noticed that it actually says "local network".
setup just like you did.. when still says local network..

go to your network properties of PC side and use ISP DNS server or 4.2.2.1/4.2.2.2 under TCP/IP properties (PC SIDE)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 28th, 2011, 07:56 AM
davidnoconnection davidnoconnection is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
davidnoconnection is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WN3000RP Can't connect to internet

Thanks for your response...

but could you be more specific, and tell me exactly how to do it on my windows7 computer?

Is that in the set up wiz or in any of the PC menus, and where?

The other problem is that it is really only on the first try that you get that far, that is says "connected but no internet". After you reset the netgear and start fresh on the same computer the setup fails even at connecting to the extender and you cant acsess even the setup wizard. The only way that I was able to get that far again after the first try was by trying it from the Mac laptop. I could possibly try it from the old windows vista computer to get a fresh start.

So, what do you think about tech support's oppinion that the extender had been damaged by trying to do firmware updates? Do I really have to replace the device? Don't feel much like driving back to best buy...

Thanks again

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 28th, 2011, 05:04 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WN3000RP Can't connect to internet

http://ask-leo.com/how_do_i_configur...p_address.html
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:34 AM.