Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 29th, 2011, 09:21 PM
easyfly easyfly is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
easyfly is on a distinguished road
Default What is NETGEAR Genie?

www.netgear.com/genie
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old August 30th, 2011, 06:29 AM
fordem fordem is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,191
fordem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: What is NETGEAR Genie?

Click the link - the page tells you what Netgear Genie is and even has a YouTube video explaining it.

What I'd like to know is what routers does it support.
__________________
Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 30th, 2011, 06:46 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is online now
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,282
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: What is NETGEAR Genie?

genie is software that will allow easier access to the basic information about the router and also if you need to change you can login into the router GUI as well. when using genie access the router GUI via wireless while using genie will not work because new firmware has updated to block access to router GUI from wireless.
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 31st, 2011, 10:59 AM
yzhang yzhang is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 7
yzhang is on a distinguished road
Default Re: What is NETGEAR Genie?

NETGEAR Genie (http://www.netgear.com/genie) is a dashboard allowing you to easily manage your home network, name a few things Genie does:
1. Allow you to manage router settings like wireless settings, guest acces, Traffic metering, ReadySHARE
2. Allow you to activate and manage parental controls
3. A network map allows you to see visually what devices are connected to your network
4. It will constantly monitor your Internet connectivity, if the computer disconnects from the Internet, Genie will be able to help you to auto fix the issue, it can fix most common wireless related issues for example.
5. You can use Genie to connect to any wireless network, and can check wireless interference in your neighborhood.

BTW, a correction to one of the comments in this topic, router firmware does allow a client to access its GUI from both wireless and wired connection, there is no new firmware to restrict only wired connection. The only recommendation NETGEAR has is to not update the router firmware through wireless connection.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 31st, 2011, 11:04 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is online now
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,282
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: What is NETGEAR Genie?

4300v2 does... limited from wireless for router gui using genie or by standard IP
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 7th, 2011, 08:11 PM
madhatter's Avatar
madhatter madhatter is offline
Senior Member
Advanced NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 626
madhatter is on a distinguished road
Default Re: What is NETGEAR Genie?

GENIE desn't identify all of my devices in the network map. 3700 V1 4.98
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 8th, 2011, 12:22 PM
somsubhro somsubhro is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 29
somsubhro is on a distinguished road
Default Re: What is NETGEAR Genie?

You can click on the icon on the network map, click on modify and change it to a different icon identifying it as a camera, gaming console etc...

You are correct, Genie does not recognize all devices. It is being enhanced.

Meanwhile, Please do use the following workaround.

Thanks

Som
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 14th, 2011, 03:10 PM
madhatter's Avatar
madhatter madhatter is offline
Senior Member
Advanced NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 626
madhatter is on a distinguished road
Default Re: What is NETGEAR Genie?

updating f/w to 1.0.7.98 solved the problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by madhatter View Post
GENIE desn't identify all of my devices in the network map. 3700 V1 4.98
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 10th, 2012, 03:41 PM
bumpslip1 bumpslip1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1
bumpslip1 is on a distinguished road
Angry Re: What is NETGEAR Genie?

Quote:
Originally Posted by easyfly View Post
I just purchased a new Netgear N600, and I have had so many problems, you just can't believe. It's so bad that I can't even log into Netgear genie. Been totally screwed by IYOGI who totally hosed my system, that I am fed up with them. I have no good words for Netgear either, because they sell a product, and pawn it off to a bunch of foreigners who want to always charge you to fix their mistakes. Really, totally FED UP.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old November 14th, 2012, 09:25 PM
Devor's Avatar
Devor Devor is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ffynnon Garw
Posts: 1,997
Devor is on a distinguished road
Default Re: What is NETGEAR Genie?

From my perspective, I wouldn't bother with the Netgear Genie and would log directly into the router. I see no practical use for the Netgear Genie other than to unnecessarily eat resources. Good luck with your issue.
__________________
WNDR3700v1 (v1.0.7.98NA)
Router uptime (d:h:m:s): 1050:08:34:23

--
How To Check and Change Your Router's Firmware:
http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=63234
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:03 AM.