Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 31st, 2011, 06:47 AM
tbsidenetgear tbsidenetgear is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 2
tbsidenetgear is on a distinguished road
Default N750/WNDR4000 router problem...

There are three computers in my “home net”, two are having no problem connecting to the “net”, the third continually gets an “Internet Explorer CANNOT display the webpage” error message. We have installed a new GA311 card but are getting the same error message. I have a N750/WNDR4000 router, are all of the lights for hard wired connections supposed blink GREEN when connected to a computer or device that is turned on? On mine only one of the lines is blinking green the other two are blinking ORANGE… How can we fix this problem? Is the N750/WNDR4000 router defective? Thanks for your thoughts…
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old August 31st, 2011, 06:54 AM
searay's Avatar
searay searay is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 3,256
searay is on a distinguished road
Default Re: N750/WNDR4000 router problem...

orange means 10 100 not gigi
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 31st, 2011, 07:01 AM
searay's Avatar
searay searay is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 3,256
searay is on a distinguished road
Default Re: N750/WNDR4000 router problem...

Check your cables to be sure all are good. Switch with known working cable. Check lan card setup settings.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 31st, 2011, 07:05 AM
searay's Avatar
searay searay is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 3,256
searay is on a distinguished road
Default Re: N750/WNDR4000 router problem...

Check router settings use DHCP in lan setup... then check lan card settings to also get IP automatically from router.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 31st, 2011, 07:10 AM
searay's Avatar
searay searay is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 3,256
searay is on a distinguished road
Default Re: N750/WNDR4000 router problem...

Place none working pc next to router and use a known working cable to test and rule out home wiring problem
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old August 31st, 2011, 08:21 AM
tbsidenetgear tbsidenetgear is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 2
tbsidenetgear is on a distinguished road
Default Re: N750/WNDR4000 router problem...

Searay, Many thanks for your suggestions. Sadly I seem to have done them all to no avail. The weirdest thing I forgot mention in the original posting is the system went sour over night, all of the lights on the router were blinking green, all computers could access the net. I have been able to get two of the three “puters” to communicate with the “net” but their lights/lines are blinking orange—10 100 as you point out.. But I am unable to get the third machine to see the net. The cabling is the same as it had been prior to the problem and was working correctly. The DHCP is enabled. I’ve spent hours on the phone with Netgear, Comcast and Iyogi but they were/are unable to solve the problem…
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old August 31st, 2011, 11:00 AM
searay's Avatar
searay searay is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 3,256
searay is on a distinguished road
Default Re: N750/WNDR4000 router problem...

Make sure you're using .60 firmware .66 has a few minor problems like random rebooting.

Do a factory default settings and install .60 firmware and disable the update option for now.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old August 31st, 2011, 11:11 AM
searay's Avatar
searay searay is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 3,256
searay is on a distinguished road
Default Re: N750/WNDR4000 router problem...

The PC's that due work must have a gigi lan card and proper cabeling, Just because it worked at 10 100 does NOT mean it will work at GIGI unless everything is GIGI rated and wired correctly. By setting them all on a table next to each other it helps to locate weakest link.

3 pc's all wired 2 work 1 does not.

My last response regarding LET WINDOWS MANAGE wifi card does apply unless your using a wireless conncetion, Are you?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 1st, 2011, 09:50 PM
jlewter jlewter is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,284
jlewter is on a distinguished road
Default Re: N750/WNDR4000 router problem...

You do sure type a lot of replys....

Is the 3rd machine connected directly?.
Do you get a green/orange LED or does it stay off.

Have you checked the 3rd machine to see if you had a STATIC IP set (that is, it may not be requesting an IP from DHCP).

compare the 3rd one to a working pc. Get the Ipconfig data (in windows click the start/windows icon, in the search bar type CMD and hit enter. From there type ipconfig and you should see something of the ilk
Code:
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Tell us what the ipv4 Address is on both of those pc's, what the gateway is, and what the subnet mask is.

For reference, Gateway and Mask should be the same on both computers.
the IP address and gateway should be the same for the first 3 octets.
For example, everything should start with 192.168.1. and the last octet is assigned by the DHCP server. This is not set in stone, but it's the default config for every home router.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:20 AM.