#1  
Old September 4th, 2011, 01:30 PM
fhiguti fhiguti is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
fhiguti is on a distinguished road
Default Extend WiFi Coverage (2 WNDR3700)

Hello,

I have at home 2 WNDR3700 Routers, linked Wirelessly each other using 2.4 Ghz and WEP wich gives me 54 mbps link between then (I Guess).To do that, my first WNDR3700 is setup as the main router and the other WNDR3700 is setup as a Repeater.

As the WNDR3700 is Dual Band, I'm using the 5GHz band with WPA2 (both routers). This setup gave me 300 mbps speed between my devices and the routers.

My problem here is that i cannot stream HD Video using my WiFi. The HD video streaming only works when my devices are hooked up with Ethernet.

I guess this issue is due to the fact that WEP only enables 54 Mpbs between the routers and not 300 mbps like WPA2.

So my question is: Whats the best way to setup my 2 WNDR3700 so i can stream HD content? I have 2 Apple TV2 running XBMC on both sides of the network getting content from a NAS, wich is linked with Gigabit on the reapeater router

Or is it better buying a range Extender like WN3000RP or WN2000RPT replacing the WNDR3700 repeater?
Whats the difference between a Repeater and the Range Extender?

Also, i noticed that sometimes the Wireless link dies and the second router gets offline.

Both routers are on the same floor, with a 50 meters distance from each other with some doors and walls (not Drywall) on the way.

Can anyone help me?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 4th, 2011, 01:45 PM
searay's Avatar
searay searay is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 3,331
searay is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Extend WiFi Coverage (2 WNDR3700)

Run cat 5 between the two and then use 2nd as an WIRED AP.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 4th, 2011, 01:51 PM
fhiguti fhiguti is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
fhiguti is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Extend WiFi Coverage (2 WNDR3700)

Is there any other way round? Because cant run cables between them.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 4th, 2011, 02:37 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Extend WiFi Coverage (2 WNDR3700)

Get extender to keep the performance and encryption to the highest

Or use power line device and make 3700 as an access point
http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/965
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 4th, 2011, 06:12 PM
Joe_ Joe_ is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2,278
Joe_ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Extend WiFi Coverage (2 WNDR3700)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fhiguti View Post
I guess this issue is due to the fact that WEP only enables 54 Mpbs between the routers and not 300 mbps like WPA2.
Yes!

Quote:
Or is it better buying a range Extender like WN3000RP or WN2000RPT replacing the WNDR3700 repeater?
Perhaps, but may also have range issues judging from what you said.

Quote:
Whats the difference between a Repeater and the Range Extender?
Repeating can only use WEP (at most) and is consequently limited to a max. link rate of 54Mbps. On the other hand, Extending will support the higher higher modes as well as WPA2.

Quote:
Also, i noticed that sometimes the Wireless link dies and the second router gets offline.
This could be due to the distance between the two units. (See below).

Quote:
...with a 50 meters distance from each other with some doors and walls (not Drywall) on the way.
This distance, combined with obstructions, may be a bit much, and could likely be the cause of lost connection between the two units. To test, move the 2nd unit to within, say, 17 meters and check. Increase the distance incrementally and continue checking for lost connection.

If this is the set distance and obstructions you have to deal with, it is very likely that you may encounter loss of connectivity issues even if you were to use a WN2000RPT or WN3000RPT. You may wish to confirm that this is the situation you are faced with. If so, June would be in a much better position to advise you on what to use. (Maybe Engenius products?).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 4th, 2011, 06:38 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Extend WiFi Coverage (2 WNDR3700)

From based on OP solution list ,I would not suggest engenius for the purpose yet but willing to sacrifice all the 3700 future, there is other solutions


50 meter is about 160ft , that is quite large distance you are covering.

If wall is not drywall ,what is the construction in details. That is more important to know the obstruction from A to B point
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 4th, 2011, 08:08 PM
fhiguti fhiguti is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
fhiguti is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Extend WiFi Coverage (2 WNDR3700)

Joe and June

Thank you very much for your help.

Joe:

1 - Is there any method to build a link between my 2 routers with 300 mbps?

2 - With Range Extender, may I have 300 mbps at the end of my network?
And it will Extend both Bands (2.4 and 5 Ghz)?
And if i change my Repeater for the Range Extender, this Repeater will
not be used anymore, right?

3 - Is it possible to link the 2 routers with some power line device, instead of
running cables through my home? (I have never seen powerline device in
my country). Our Electrical Agency has not approved this tech yet so is
not for sale around here. But if it works (and how fast), i cant buy it from
Amazon.com

Joe and June:

Here in my country (Brazil), walls are usually built with bricks or concrete. Stronger materials then Drywall used in the US. Our walls for sure interfers on Router Signal broadcast. This is the reason I have 2 Routers.

I've been trying to setup a fast wireless network for quite sometime. The netgear routers are my best bet until now. My only issue is with HD movie stream.


Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 4th, 2011, 08:14 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Extend WiFi Coverage (2 WNDR3700)

If brick is used,I would say using repeating is out of questions.

Power line device the best way to go. Brick and conceret will absorb the signal really bad so you other choice if you can not get power line device then you may need to run CAT5 cable outside wall .

I would suggest to consult some local tech/installer
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 4th, 2011, 08:21 PM
fhiguti fhiguti is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
fhiguti is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Extend WiFi Coverage (2 WNDR3700)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
If brick is used,I would say using repeating is out of questions.

Power line device the best way to go. Brick and conceret will absorb the signal really bad so you other choice if you can not get power line device then you may need to run CAT5 cable outside wall .

I would suggest to consult some local tech/installer
June,

So i cannot link my 2 routers with WPA and get 300 Mpbs?

And even with Range Extender, it wouldnt help?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old September 4th, 2011, 08:30 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Extend WiFi Coverage (2 WNDR3700)

You can not assume works or not

At this point you need to test out yourself with real setup but I can tell you brick ,concrete is bad start

You discuss all day and you will not get any better that you may want to hear. Possible to work but expect lower signal
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:50 AM.