#1  
Old September 30th, 2011, 03:49 PM
bklyng bklyng is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 7
bklyng is on a distinguished road
Default Repeater WGR614v9 and Dlink WBR-1310

Hi,

I'm quite a newb when it comes to routers. My roommate has a WGR614v9, currently not connected, that she has no clue about how it was set up before. I have a Dlink WBR-1310 which is currently running as our wifi network. I was wondering if I can use her router as a repeater or vice versa - connect hers to the Ethernet and use mine as a repeater?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 30th, 2011, 04:55 PM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Repeater WGR614v9 and Dlink WBR-1310

repeating is possible on V9 of the router but you will compromise the encryption down to WEP or None so I would say ditch the idea if you are thinking about wirelessly connecting these two together.

only other way is to use ethernet cable each other

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/965
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 30th, 2011, 05:05 PM
bklyng bklyng is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 7
bklyng is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Repeater WGR614v9 and Dlink WBR-1310

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
repeating is possible on V9 of the router but you will compromise the encryption down to WEP or None so I would say ditch the idea if you are thinking about wirelessly connecting these two together.

only other way is to use ethernet cable each other

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/965
I believe it is currently set as WEP.... I'm guessing from the way you wrote about it that it is a very low level of security? Are there any router that allow repeating and a higher level of security?

Let me ask you something else if you don't mind:
Will it be easier to use the same type of router (basically buying two of the same type) if I wish to use one as a repeater?
If it is, then which one allows repeating from these: Linksys E1000, Belkin N150 Wireless N Router, and D-Link DIR-601 Wireless N 150

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 30th, 2011, 05:19 PM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Repeater WGR614v9 and Dlink WBR-1310

you best choice is WN2000RPT, WN3000, WNCE2001 extender which will give you use higher encryption

WEP are hackable 100%, I would avoid that if you can use ex. WPA2 with current wifi devices on your router before about repeating. if you can the above model works well for you

across the border , all manufacture do use WEP for repeating 9/10
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 30th, 2011, 06:00 PM
bklyng bklyng is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 7
bklyng is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Repeater WGR614v9 and Dlink WBR-1310

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
you best choice is WN2000RPT, WN3000, WNCE2001 extender which will give you use higher encryption

WEP are hackable 100%, I would avoid that if you can use ex. WPA2 with current wifi devices on your router before about repeating. if you can the above model works well for you

across the border , all manufacture do use WEP for repeating 9/10
Excellent advice.

What about using that "DD-WRT" thing with a decent router? Will that increase my range significantly?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 30th, 2011, 06:03 PM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Repeater WGR614v9 and Dlink WBR-1310

if you have compatible router you can explore better firmware but not necessary makes range dramatically better
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 30th, 2011, 06:17 PM
bklyng bklyng is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 7
bklyng is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Repeater WGR614v9 and Dlink WBR-1310

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
if you have compatible router you can explore better firmware but not necessary makes range dramatically better
What about does huge antennas?

or this - http://www.firefold.com/TP-LINK-WA73...FUNN4AodBVC12Q
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 30th, 2011, 06:29 PM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Repeater WGR614v9 and Dlink WBR-1310

you are asking thing you need to try and error
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 30th, 2011, 06:32 PM
bklyng bklyng is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 7
bklyng is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Repeater WGR614v9 and Dlink WBR-1310

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
you are asking thing you need to try and error
Ok... I will either buy and antenna or go for the suggestion you made with using it as an access point and running a wire to my dlink.

I will need the wire to run for about 25ft....
Is it a standard ethernet wire?
Where can I get a wire like that for cheap?
can I cut one and re plug it?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old September 30th, 2011, 06:36 PM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Repeater WGR614v9 and Dlink WBR-1310

Quote:
Is it a standard ethernet wire?
yes..

you can try go to local computer shop to make you one but I would get pre-make cable since those are stranded able and make easier to lay on the floor.

go newegg.ccom or something or even amazon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:50 AM.