Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 16th, 2011, 11:35 AM
crookadile crookadile is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
crookadile is on a distinguished road
Default Flashing Light Problem ?

Hi first of all apologies if my query is in the wrong section,

I have a wireless router DG834G v5. Occasionally I have noticed that the green internet light is blinking indicating that there is traffic.

However My PC, Laptop and PS3 are all turned off. Is it normal for the light to blink when I have all my wireless equipment is turned off.

Any advice would be appreciated, Thanks in advance, Brian.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 16th, 2011, 12:57 PM
Joe_ Joe_ is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2,272
Joe_ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Flashing Light Problem ?

As I understand it, the internet LED is solidly lit when all of your devices are turned off, however, occasionally you see the internet LED blinking as though traffic is passing over your connection - am I correct?

First, check the router's log as it may give you a clue to whether someone has hacked into your connection. You could also check under Attached Devices and verify that all the MACs are yours. (An inventory list of all your MACs is a useful thing to always have).

Also, once you ensure that your router is properly configure with the highest security, a good strong passphrase, and that you have also changed the default admin password, you should be safe from all but the most skilled hackers.

On some routers, it is normal for the internet LED to blink even when all your devices are off. This is normally cause by other servers on the internet checking to see if website pages are up-to-date on your PCs. You should check you router's online PDF manual to see if this is normal for your router.

One more thing may cause your lights to blink are attempts to connect to your network. These may just happen unintentionally, since most devices will just try to connect to the strongest signal they "see". You can try turning off SSID broadcast, which should prevent most Windows machines from detecting your network and trying to connect. This is not foolproof of course, but is just another means of minimising nuisance attempts to connect to your network.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 16th, 2011, 03:36 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is online now
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,317
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Flashing Light Problem ?

internet light will continue to blink regardless of any background application which may communicates.

if you unplug all the devices from the router and turn off the wifi devices and see internet right is blinking are any of network scanning from any network user on the internet or other networking devices like ISP with continues communicating , pinging etc.

generally speaking you will not going to see internet light not to blink.

if you have any ports open on router and even it's LAN device is off, some network scan from the internet may try to gain access on other way to look at it.
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 17th, 2011, 04:44 AM
crookadile crookadile is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
crookadile is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Flashing Light Problem ?

Thanks for your advice guys.

I could not see anything untowards in the log.

I have now changed the default admin password like Joe said and changed the passphrase to a stronger one.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:25 AM.