#1  
Old October 18th, 2011, 02:03 AM
build build is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
build is on a distinguished road
Default Cannot connect to router

Hi
I have set up the router (NETGEAR N300 Wireless ADSL2 Router) all ok and can get on the net with wireless on my other laptops.
I have bought a desktop computer (xp pro) which was connected to my mates router. I pluged in the ethernet cable to the desktop then to the router BUT it will not see the router.It keeps saying no connection or low connectivity I look at the ipconfig and it says for the ip 169. But if I use my lap top with Win7 on it and plug in the ethernet it works.

What have I got wrong

THank you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 18th, 2011, 06:07 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Cannot connect to router

possible band network card unless this computer do work with other wired networks
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 18th, 2011, 09:00 AM
Joe_ Joe_ is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2,279
Joe_ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Cannot connect to router

Quote:
Originally Posted by build View Post
I have set up the router (NETGEAR N300 Wireless ADSL2 Router) all ok and can get on the net with wireless on my other laptops.
Firstly, N300 is not the router's model number. Look at the label that is stuck to the router - it should be something like DGxxxx or WNxxxx. From the info provided, I rather suspect you have posted in the wrong forum. (Yes! I know that the way the forums are arranged doesn't make it a "no-brainer" to choose the correct forum).

Quote:
I have bought a desktop computer (xp pro) which was connected to my mates router...
So let's see if I got this right: You bought this desktop PC (presumably 2nd hand) and it was working on your friend's router. Next, you connect it to a LAN port of your router using the same ethernet cable that was used before, and you cannot establish a connection. Is this correct? What does the that LAN LED show? (e.g. color, steady or blinking).

Check and make sure the ends of the cable are properly inserted in both the PC and the router. Also, try swapping the cable with another one. Try another LAN port.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 18th, 2011, 11:40 AM
boardsystem boardsystem is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1
boardsystem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Cannot connect to router

How far away you're from router? With long cable connection are lost. Make sure Local IP Address it's not already used by another computer.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 18th, 2011, 12:20 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Cannot connect to router

Quote:
Originally Posted by boardsystem View Post
Make sure Local IP Address it's not already used by another computer.

with IP 169.x IP , you will not get this ip because of duplicate IP. It it was, one of the device will get duplicate IP.

usually 169 are sign of not fully communicating at all
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:07 PM.