Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 20th, 2011, 08:09 AM
mikark mikark is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 7
mikark is on a distinguished road
Arrow WPS and Wireless - Status LED issue

Hello to everyone.
This is my first post in this board and first of all, I wish to greet the forum staff and all the users.

I've just bought a DGND3700 and I've a problem with Wireless status LED: it doesn't work.
If I press for some second the Wireless on/off button, the wi-fi connections switch on or switch off correctly, but the Wireless status LED is always off.

Instead, the WPS status LED flashes (blinking green) for about two minutes only when I press the WPS on/off button and after it goes out.
The solid green LED doesn't switch on never.



l contacted the Netgear support and they advised me to return my router to the seller for to change it.
Before to do it, I wish to know if there is anyone who had a similar issue and how he solved it.

Thanks in advance for your replies and sorry for my bad English.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 20th, 2011, 08:30 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is online now
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 94,047
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPS and Wireless - Status LED issue

WPS is for WPS capable wifi devices and different way to connect to the router

Two types way to connect

WPS and
Standard normal encryption -WPA,WPA2


WPS will timeout in 2min when there is no WPS capable wifi device initiate the connection . Manual will describe all this

Go to support.netgear.com and download the manual
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 20th, 2011, 08:45 AM
mikark mikark is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 7
mikark is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPS and Wireless - Status LED issue

Thanks Jmizoguchi, for your prompt reply an for your advices.

I'm happy to read that my router haven't any problem with WPS status LED.

Can you tell me something about the Wireless status LED?
I didn't find any information about it on manual.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 20th, 2011, 09:38 AM
Joe_ Joe_ is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2,258
Joe_ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPS and Wireless - Status LED issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikark View Post
l contacted the Netgear support and they advised me to return my router to the seller for to change it.
Before to do it, I wish to know if there is anyone who had a similar issue and how he solved it.
Forget about if anyone had a similar issue and how they solved it. Don't waste time with that -furthermore don't attempt to do anything that may invalidate your returning the router.

The Wireless LED is suppose to be on by default when you are first setting up the router. Netgear's support obviously realised that something was wrong or faulty hence the reason that they advised you to return it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 20th, 2011, 10:16 AM
mikark mikark is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 7
mikark is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPS and Wireless - Status LED issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe_ View Post
Forget about if anyone had a similar issue and how they solved it. Don't waste time with that -furthermore don't attempt to do anything that may invalidate your returning the router.

The Wireless LED is suppose to be on by default when you are first setting up the router. Netgear's support obviously realised that something was wrong or faulty hence the reason that they advised you to return it.
Therefore, there is no problem in my router and even on your WNDR3700 the LED is switched off?
It's right?

Maybe the man (or woman) of the Netgear support who advised me to return the router doesn't know very well as the WNDR3700 works.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 20th, 2011, 10:39 AM
Joe_ Joe_ is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2,258
Joe_ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPS and Wireless - Status LED issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikark View Post
I've just bought a DGND3700...
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikark View Post
...and even on your WNDR3700 the LED....
DGND or WNDR, which is it? They are two different units.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe_ View Post
The Wireless LED is suppose to be on by default...
...hence the reason that they advised you to return it
.
What are you unclear about? Return the unit!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 20th, 2011, 10:48 AM
Websurfer Websurfer is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 29
Websurfer is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPS and Wireless - Status LED issue

It's time to make a clarification: mikark says that there's a led on the wi-fi button power. But the situation is this:



Ok, now?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 20th, 2011, 10:50 AM
mikark mikark is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 7
mikark is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPS and Wireless - Status LED issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe_ View Post
DGND or WNDR, which is it? They are two different units.
It's only a my misprint.
Obviously, I'm talking about the DGND3700.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe_ View Post
What are you unclear about? Return the unit!
I can accept irony, but I can't accept you take fun of me!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 20th, 2011, 11:18 AM
mikark mikark is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 7
mikark is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPS and Wireless - Status LED issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Websurfer View Post
It's time to make a clarification: mikark says that there's a led on the wi-fi button power. But the situation is this:



Ok, now?
Ok, I think you are right.

But I saw the wireless status LED switched on in a picture published on Netgear official web site and I thought thate the LED had to be present and working.

Picture by Netgear official web site:
http://www.netgear.com/home/products.../DGND3700.aspx

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old October 20th, 2011, 11:30 AM
Joe_ Joe_ is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2,258
Joe_ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPS and Wireless - Status LED issue

@Websurfer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a picture that is very clear.

@mikark,

The fact is that both the DGND3700 and the WNDR3700 do exist. We must be sure about which one we (or at least me) are dealing with instead of haring off in a certain direction, only to realise at some later stage that we aren't talking about the same unit.

Secondly, I thought that I had been very clear on what to do. This allied to the fact that Netgear support had themselves instructed you to return the router. For that matter, it's possible that when you were dealing with NG you also told them it was a WNDR3700 and that's why they told you to return the unit.

I'm just seeking clarity. I am not trying to make fun of you, and if you got that impression, I apologise.

Thanks to Websurfer posting in graphic detail, you should have no confusion now.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:00 AM.