#1  
Old October 21st, 2011, 04:02 PM
montie montie is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 9
montie is on a distinguished road
Default WNR2000v2 N300 Wireless Router

Using laptop1 (Windows 7) I have wireless connection to the internet and everything works great. Laptop2 (Windows XP) shows that I have a valid connection to my network also, yet I cannot connect to the internet. Any suggestions?

montie
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 21st, 2011, 06:27 PM
Joe_ Joe_ is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2,279
Joe_ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR2000v2 N300 Wireless Router

Check this link and see if it helps.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 21st, 2011, 09:50 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNR2000v2 N300 Wireless Router

On XP, long yahoo.com, 4.2.2.2

If 4.2.2.2 comes back, then try using public DNS on network properties on XP of with ISP DNS oe 4.2.2.1/4.2.2.2
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 22nd, 2011, 08:49 AM
Etronics Etronics is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Etronics is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR2000v2 N300 Wireless Router

Hello,
New to this forum and I can't find where I can submitt a new post. Please advise. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 22nd, 2011, 08:54 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNR2000v2 N300 Wireless Router

Ex
http://forum1.netgear.com/forumdisplay.php?f=34

Forum tools tam > post new thread
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 22nd, 2011, 12:57 PM
montie montie is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 9
montie is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR2000v2 N300 Wireless Router

Thanks for the help.

I find that when I ping 4.2.2.2 on the XP I get no response yet the XP network properties shows that I am connected. I have no idea what this contradiction means or what to do about it. Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 22nd, 2011, 03:44 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNR2000v2 N300 Wireless Router

Quote:
Originally Posted by montie View Post
Thanks for the help.

I find that when I ping 4.2.2.2 on the XP I get no response yet the XP network properties shows that I am connected. I have no idea what this contradiction means or what to do about it. Any thoughts?
If 4.2.2.2 still fails , check any third party firewall settings
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 26th, 2011, 01:57 PM
montie montie is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 9
montie is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR2000v2 N300 Wireless Router

I have succeeded in going from bad to worse. I started out by not being able to connect to my wireless network from my Toshiba Satellite Laptop (Windows XP). My network and others were visible on Wireless Network Connections. Still I could not connect to the internet. I got no response when I pinged on 4.2.2.2. So it appears that I am not in contact with my router. I tried various suggested fixes. The awful result is that now, no wireless networks are found in range. Can someone suggest a bridge that I can jump off? Alternatively, any suggestions that even a dullard can implement? The Wireless Network Connection Properties shows that I am using a Atheros AR5005G Wireless Network. There is a CONFIGURE button alongside but I have not clicked on it for fear that I would make matters even worse.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 26th, 2011, 02:37 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNR2000v2 N300 Wireless Router

make sure you did not turn off the wifi button which are usually on edge of laptops so easily turn off the wifi with small sliding switches.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old October 26th, 2011, 03:10 PM
montie montie is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 9
montie is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR2000v2 N300 Wireless Router

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you. You can't imagine how stupid I feel. But you did save me from jumping. Thanks again. I'm up and running.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:18 PM.