Old November 2nd, 2011, 12:08 PM

manimaul is on a distinguished road
Default wndr4500 wireless unreliable

Hello, I am a computer network engineer. I purchased a wndr4500 three days ago. I was enthusiastic about this product and some of it's features. However, I would like to express how dis-appointed I am in it. While the router does work great for wired clients; I am having to re-boot the router twice every-day for wireless clients to stay connected (both 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz). I've upgraded to the latest firmware and have tried factory resetting the router. It will work perfectly for about 3 hours. Eventually, it will fail to allow new wireless clients to authenticate. And, with previously authenticated wireless clients it will do one or more of the following thing:

--some are disconnected and then cannot re-authenticate
--some can only reach local ip addresses including the router but not the internet
--some seem to stay wirelessly authenticated but cannot reach any address

What a disappointment for a promising router. Hopefully this is a known issue and gets solved quickly. Please inform.

Will
Old November 2nd, 2011, 01:34 PM
NETGEAR Newbie

Geoff50 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: wndr4500 wireless unreliable

did you try different cha.
Old November 2nd, 2011, 02:42 PM
NETGEAR Addict

Joe_ is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by manimaul View Post
Please inform.
It is possible you got a defective unit.

This is only a user-to-user forum and you should not expect it to substitute for tech support.

You should really open a case with Netgear. Choose the option of not registering the router.

If I were you I'd ensure that I don't lose the option to return it to the store.
Old November 2nd, 2011, 03:13 PM

jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point

If I were you return the unit and get new one as sounds like defective unit if you feel there is no other channel interference is happening..