Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 9th, 2011, 04:36 PM
JWRockman JWRockman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
JWRockman is on a distinguished road
Default WNDR3700v1 only shows G. No N showing up

When I do a network search under Windows Vista 64 and Win7 64 I see G wireless but do not see the faster N wireless. I am not sure what to do. Should I do a factory reset and see what happens. I am running
WNDR3700
Firmware Version V1.0.4.68NA
GUI Language Version V1.0.0.42

Please give me some suggestions on being able to use the higher speed,
One more thing, what is the purpose of the buttons on the front of router?
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 9th, 2011, 04:56 PM
Joe_ Joe_ is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2,272
Joe_ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3700v1 only shows G. No N showing up

Quote:
Originally Posted by JWRockman View Post
Please give me some suggestions on being able to use the higher speed,
One more thing, what is the purpose of the buttons on the front of router?
Browse to support.netgear.com, enter your router's model number in the 1st field and from under the documentation tab, download the Manuals.

You should find in the manuals how to set the higher speeds, as well as an explanation of the buttons.

If your network has 802.11g devices as well, this will "pull-down" your speed whenever these devices are in use.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 9th, 2011, 06:02 PM
jlewter jlewter is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,284
jlewter is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3700v1 only shows G. No N showing up

You need to set mode to 300, and encryption type to wpa2-psk (aes)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 9th, 2011, 10:28 PM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,450
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3700v1 only shows G. No N showing up

And make sure WMM is enabled in the QoS page.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe_ View Post
If your network has 802.11g devices as well, this will "pull-down" your speed whenever these devices are in use.
Only during their own transmit / receive periods, at all other times the faster devices will operate at the faster rate and should still show a Link Rate of up to 300Mbps regardless of any associated slower devices.
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.

Last edited by Mars Mug; November 9th, 2011 at 10:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:01 AM.