Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 12th, 2011, 01:39 AM
rollers rollers is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
rollers is on a distinguished road
Default WNDR4500 and firewall

Hi,
I have just purchased and set up my 4500 and have it all up and running.
My one problem is that when I scan my computer (wired to the 4500) on shields up, my ports are all shown as closed but visible. I find this unusual as they should really be stealthed.
I have spoken to tech support and they confirm that the firewall is enabled.
As the 4500 is not a modem, I have a firewall in my modem that if I switch on stealths everything. If this modem firewall can stealth the ports why can't the 4500? One of my buying points was the double firewall protection, am I doing something wrong?
Thanks for your anticipated replies
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 12th, 2011, 06:39 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,299
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR4500 and firewall

what is the broadband modem.....model
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 12th, 2011, 09:06 AM
rollers rollers is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
rollers is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR4500 and firewall

Thats a good question as I am on a temporary one at the moment. I have brought a sitecom ADSL 2+ modem to use, but cant get it to work and their tech support only work Monday to Friday, so can't ask them about it until then. It only has an option for PPPOA connection where as my isp uses ETHOA.
Until Monday I am using my old Belkin modem router with wireless etc turned off and just using it as a pure modem.
Hopefully Sitecom can sort my connection problems on Monday.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 12th, 2011, 09:17 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,299
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR4500 and firewall

If you are using ethoa then you like need to have you ISP assist you to see if you can pass routable IP to your 4500.
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 12th, 2011, 09:26 AM
rollers rollers is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
rollers is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR4500 and firewall

Hi and thanks for your reply, unfortunately I am not sure what that means.
I have spoken to them on the phone and they have emailed me the settings for the modem once I get instructions on how to set it up for ethoa. My ISP is unbundled in the local exchange and has its own kit in there.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 12th, 2011, 09:31 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,299
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR4500 and firewall

You need to ask how you can make the setting correctly to work with your own router behind their provide broadband modem

Other options are you may need to use Netgear router as an access point

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/965
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 12th, 2011, 09:35 AM
rollers rollers is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
rollers is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR4500 and firewall

Ok, thanks, I will ask them on Monday.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 12th, 2011, 10:05 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,299
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR4500 and firewall

keep update your issues...
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 16th, 2011, 09:33 AM
rollers rollers is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
rollers is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR4500 and firewall

Hi,

Thanks for all your help. I managed to get hold of a modem on its own after much searching. Its all up and running with the new WNDR4500 and the firewall is stealth, so I am happy
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old November 16th, 2011, 09:52 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,299
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR4500 and firewall

Sounds great! Enjoy!!
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:09 AM.