Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 8th, 2011, 08:44 PM
soyelfunk soyelfunk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
soyelfunk is on a distinguished road
Default WNDR3400 - Cannot connect to internet

My internet connection all of the sudden dropped on my WNDR3400 Wireless router. I have been using it fine for 3 months, but my connection all of the sudden droppend and I haven't been able to get it back. Here is what I have tried and verified so far:

My internet connection works fine, meaning I can connect directly to the internet from my PC to my ISP cable router.

All lights on the Netgear router seem to be indicating that everything is functioning fine, including the internet light (orange flashing). I've tried connecting through one of the ethernet ports, and the wireless signal is strong and I can connect to the router through the wireless signal.

I can log into the router and modify its settings, however the router shows that there is no internet connection when trying to run firmware updates.

To summarize:

1. I can connect to the internet
2. I can connect to the wireless - but it does not route to the internet
3. I can connect via ethernet port - does not route to the internet

I tried to reset the router multiple times, but no change. I have tried a factory reset, but it still will not connect to the internet even with all default settings.

I also have connected the cable from the internet port on the router (not the LAN port) to the ISP provided cable modem.

I'm using both Mac OSX and Windows 7, this same issue occurs on both platforms.

My ISP is Comcast, but as mentioned, I can connect to the internet directly when not using the router.

If anyone could help me to identify the problem, I would greatly appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 9th, 2011, 04:12 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,278
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3400 - Cannot connect to internet

mac spoof the router using one of mac or pc's mac address and changed that under the basic setting of the netgear router

also turn off the cable modem for 30min to cycle the comcast network and try again
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 9th, 2011, 08:06 AM
Neilyum Neilyum is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 23
Neilyum is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3400 - Cannot connect to internet

Hi soyelfunk,

I also have a WNDR3400 with Comcast as my ISP, and I have a suggestion.

I may not be an expert like June, but that "orange flashing internet light" doesn't sound right to me. I actually had that happen once, and it turned out to be a defective Cat5 cable! No idea how a cable can suddenly go bad, but that's what happened to me and it would only cost you a few bucks to replace - better yet free if you have a spare as I did.

Hope this helps, good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 9th, 2011, 03:49 PM
soyelfunk soyelfunk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
soyelfunk is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3400 - Cannot connect to internet

I went for the easier route and turned off the modem for about 10 minutes. Turns out that did the job. Also, I tried the cable thing before, but it didn't work out, but a great suggestion none the less. I had an IT professor that said 80% of networking problems are in the cabling. Not sure how true that stat is, but I take it into consideration every time I troubleshoot problems.

Thanks for your help.

Answer: turn off router for 10-30 min to allow comcast to recycle
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 9th, 2011, 04:12 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,278
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3400 - Cannot connect to internet

Quote:
Originally Posted by soyelfunk View Post
I went for the easier route and turned off the modem for about 10 minutes. Turns out that did the job. Also, I tried the cable thing before, but it didn't work out, but a great suggestion none the less. I had an IT professor that said 80% of networking problems are in the cabling. Not sure how true that stat is, but I take it into consideration every time I troubleshoot problems.

Thanks for your help.

Answer: turn off router for 10-30 min to allow comcast to recycle
so my suggestion just worked huh... usually on comcast or cable modem services, it needs to be OFF for good duration or will cause issues.

enjoy your new toy
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 10th, 2011, 05:08 AM
Neilyum Neilyum is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 23
Neilyum is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3400 - Cannot connect to internet

Yay! Glad your problem was resolved so easily!

Is your light still orange/amber, or are they all nice and green?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 9th, 2013, 11:59 AM
jose_collado77 jose_collado77 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
jose_collado77 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3400 - Cannot connect to internet

I have the same problem but all my lights on my router are green. Would the waiting for 10-30 minutes work too? Thanks for your time
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 9th, 2013, 12:01 PM
jose_collado77 jose_collado77 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
jose_collado77 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3400 - Cannot connect to internet

All my lights are green. So it is receiving internet from the modem. But it doesn't push out internet. Would the 10-30 min test work on this too?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 9th, 2013, 12:12 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,278
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3400 - Cannot connect to internet

if you have cable modem then

Quote:
1. turn off the cable modem and unplug ethernet cable
2. wait for few min (20min)
3. turn on the cable modem only and do NOT plug any ethernet cable
4. wait until all the light up on cable modem
5. ONLY after all the light is up. hook up a router behind the cable modem
6. you should able to get public IP from the ISP and it will show up in the router status when you login the router.


** remove the BATTERY from the cable modem if built-in and follow from #1~
still have issues.. do mac spoofing like it been done here by OP
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 23rd, 2013, 10:52 PM
Mmitchell512 Mmitchell512 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Mmitchell512 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3400 - Cannot connect to internet

i just got this modem and my windows vista laptop will not connect to the internet (wireless) connects to network but it says local only. . .

my desktop works (wired)
as does cell phones and tablet (wireless)


any sugestions?


thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:07 PM.