#1  
Old December 21st, 2011, 07:47 PM
jdrake jdrake is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
jdrake is on a distinguished road
Question Can't access 5G network

I just installed my new N900 router. So easy - and what a performance boost for our home network! I had a Netgear RangeMax for the last 6 years. But this is so much better!

However, although the router config clearly shows two networks being available (Netgear00 and Netgear00-5G), when I hunt for a network to connect to, only the 00 net shows up!

What am I doing wrong?

Hope someone can help.

Thanks,

jdrake
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 21st, 2011, 07:54 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Can't access 5G network

make sure you have dual band capable wifi devices...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 21st, 2011, 08:04 PM
jdrake jdrake is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
jdrake is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't access 5G network

I just bought a new Asus laptop, high-powered, but am not sure if it supports dual band, now that you mention it. I just thought it would, being the latest and greatest, etc. Can you get a dual-band card for a laptop?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 21st, 2011, 08:09 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Can't access 5G network

min-pci card is available with in dual band or have to to USB wireless adapter.

unless you alive in SATURATED 2.4Ghz area, 5Ghz will offer lower range now. higher Mbps such as 4500Mbps may only support at 5Ghz "IF" you have 450Mbps which you probably don't.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 21st, 2011, 08:19 PM
jdrake jdrake is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
jdrake is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't access 5G network

Thanks! All I know right now is that this router really gave our network a much needed boost. I will have to research the 5gb network angle more I guess. If there is something I can do to access more speed, I'll do it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 21st, 2011, 08:22 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Can't access 5G network

best to check your laptop first if supports.

few mini pci card supports 450Mbps, here is one.
http://www.intel.com/products/wirele...5000/index.htm
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 21st, 2011, 08:30 PM
jdrake jdrake is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
jdrake is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't access 5G network

Thanks! I am going to look into it. I have sent a query to Asus, too.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old December 22nd, 2011, 05:20 PM
StratmanX StratmanX is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 292
StratmanX is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't access 5G network

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrake View Post
Thanks! I am going to look into it. I have sent a query to Asus, too.
Asus may mor may not tell you of all the dual band NIC adapter cards that work with your notebook. They likely have tested something or two and may even sell the upgrade, but it is unlikely they will know about every NIC.

Use Google to find what other users of your identical notebook model/motherboard are using. The Asus forum for your model is a good place to start. Find out what specific NIC adapter card you have currently and let us know. If it's already a dual band NIC - able to send/receive on either 2.4 or 5 GHz bands - then you have a different issue, such as needing to select and connect to the 5 GHz band signal manually. You should also be able to set a dual band card to preferentially connect to one band or the other on boot.

Key things to look for are whether the NIC adapter card is full height mini or half-height mini card. Next, you'll want to know how many antenna are available for connection to the NIC adapter card. You will want 3 antenna available to attach to a 3x3 NIC adapter card in order to tack advantage of 450 Mbps Mode in the 5 GHz band. Asus tech support or your user manual may tell you these two parameters. Asus forum or Google or opening up your notebook will give you the answer as well.

Once you know how many antenna are available and what siced card you need to purchase then you can investigate pricing of different replacement cards.

If you have 3 antenna available in the notebook, then an appropriate sized Intel 5300, Intel 6300, or a Bigfoot Killer Wireless-N would be good choices.

I use an Intel 5300 with the Netgear 4500 and am happy. I would have gone for the Intel 6300 but I needed a full-height mini card in my notebook.

The only other things you will need to know is how to swap out the cards - should be in your manual - and to obtain and install the drivers for your new NIC adapter card.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old December 23rd, 2011, 04:24 AM
cslekniws cslekniws is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 12
cslekniws is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't access 5G network

I had the same problem on my NetGear (not seeing the 5 ghz band). The solution was to change the regional settings to Europ (i live in het netherlands). After that all my devices where able to find the 5 ghz network.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old December 27th, 2011, 05:46 PM
DODmayhem DODmayhem is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 11
DODmayhem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't access 5G network

I did not want to make a new thread so I will post here.

I have the same problem with my new router model number WNDR3400v2


So I take it that the iPhone 4s and Xbox 360 are not dual band capable?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:32 AM.