#1  
Old December 23rd, 2011, 06:24 PM
Mandy0908 Mandy0908 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Mandy0908 is on a distinguished road
Default Devices can't find 5G wireless network - DGND3700

Yesterday I purchased the DGND3700 to replace my extremely old modem and router. I now have the connections all up and running except I have very little understanding of the dual bands though I though that essentially we would see two wireless connection - one 2.4G and one 5G. I can't seem to see the 5G network in my wireless connection section. I can only see and connect to the 2.4 i set up. This is the same for all devices in the house. Any suggestions on why this is?

thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 23rd, 2011, 08:45 PM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Devices can't find 5G wireless network - DGND3700

assuming you own dual band supposed wifi devices? if not , it will not see it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 23rd, 2011, 11:37 PM
Mystogan Mystogan is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 23
Mystogan is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Devices can't find 5G wireless network - DGND3700

Kindly try to check the wireless capability of your device; maybe the manual of it. If it support 802.11a then it should detect the 5GHz.

Note that you may find that your device can support 802.11 b/g/n/a; as long as it has the "a", it should detect the 5GHz.

Last edited by Mars Mug; July 6th, 2014 at 10:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 26th, 2011, 03:43 PM
Mandy0908 Mandy0908 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Mandy0908 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Devices can't find 5G wireless network - DGND3700

Ok so i think the devices that can not see it support 802.11n ? so that would be the reason? i guess the 5G network will only be used for the PS3 and mobile phones.

thanks!

Last edited by Mars Mug; July 6th, 2014 at 10:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 26th, 2011, 06:27 PM
theTechman05 theTechman05 is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 519
theTechman05 is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb Re: Devices can't find 5G wireless network - DGND3700

There are at least 2 home devices for N. You've got single band 2.4GHz and dual band with 5.4 and 2.4. It gets more fun when you try to deside on product with bandwith.

You could first check you drivers like and have new features enabled like erm ipv6 .

Easiest second solution is the 3100 n600 USB stick since it has dual band and should give you bandwith that works with this device. Eithier that or you could check you PC if its got the needed wires to update your internal card.

Hope this gives you some solutions to no 5ghz
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 6th, 2014, 06:59 PM
Cindyr Cindyr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Cindyr is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Devices can't find 5G wireless network

I have a Toshiba Tecra R950 Laptop and we just purchased a new modem/router. It has allowed my husband to use the 5G and my phone can see the 5G - BUT -- my laptop is only allowing me to see the 3G.
Is there a setting somewhere that I am just not seeing?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 6th, 2014, 10:27 PM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,469
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Devices can't find 5G wireless network - DGND3700

The specifications for your laptop state that it supports 802.11a/b/g/n so should handle 5GHz WiFi, but it also states that it can take a 3G sim card. Since you specifically mention 3G (which is not WiFi), I wonder if you are confusing this with WiFi, and the WiFi card might be turned off or disabled (Often a function key is set up to enable/disable WiFi).
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:55 AM.