#1  
Old December 24th, 2011, 04:50 PM
bejobe bejobe is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
bejobe is on a distinguished road
Default WNCE2001: Admin password possible?

Is it possible to protect the configuration (the Web UI) of the WNCE2001 with an admin password? If not, in which way is the WNCE2001 protected against user access (over WLAN and over Ethernet)?

An additional question: Are german Umlauts possible within WPA/WPA2 keys with the newest firmware?

Bejobe
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 24th, 2011, 06:13 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNCE2001: Admin password possible?

I don't think you can change as you see in GUI

Contact support for feature enhancement at my.netgear.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 25th, 2011, 01:13 AM
bejobe bejobe is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
bejobe is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNCE2001: Admin password possible?

Thank you for your answer.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
I don't think you can change as you see in GUI
I do not know what is "in GUI", because I have not yet bought the WBCE2001.
The "access GUI password" is a decisive purchase criterion for me. A (W)LAN device without access password, is this possible? I can not believe that...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
Contact support for feature enhancement at my.netgear.com
I will try it, but why is this official forum not the right place to ask for feature. I do not understand the function of this forum, if it is not to communicate with netgear itself.


What is about my second question: Umlauts in keys?


Best regards


Bejiobe
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 25th, 2011, 04:43 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNCE2001: Admin password possible?

GUI, graphic user interface- device interface, we're you change settings

If you are talking about special character then you need to use basics character sets
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 25th, 2011, 05:22 AM
bejobe bejobe is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
bejobe is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNCE2001: Admin password possible?

Thanks for your answer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
GUI
I know what a GUI is. My question is, is there an option to set an admin password in the GUI to protect the settings? I do not know what is in the GUI, because I haven't have the WNCE2001 yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
If you are talking about special character then you need to use basics character sets
Really, no support for Umlauts? This is bad, because I have no access to the settings of the WLAN access point, where the WNCE2001 will be connected to.

Two non standard settings in this WNCE2001. Why? Maybe a Firmware Update will help? Or hase the newer WNCE3001 this features?

Bejobe
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 25th, 2011, 05:31 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNCE2001: Admin password possible?

Already said. On this model I don't think you can change the password

Wnce2001 is 2.4 support
Wnce3001 is 5ghz (or dual band)

If you can not access the current AP then maybe an issue
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 29th, 2011, 02:28 AM
bejobe bejobe is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
bejobe is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNCE2001: Admin password possible?

What means "don't think ... can change the password"? There is a password?

I understand: the truth is, you do not know it...

Again: Has the Gui password protection, yes or no?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old December 29th, 2011, 03:58 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNCE2001: Admin password possible?

Yes and can NOT change it
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old December 31st, 2011, 01:21 PM
bejobe bejobe is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
bejobe is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNCE2001: Admin password possible?

Please excuse me, that I ask again.

I understand, the WebUi is password protected and this password can not be changed.

My question: Has every piece of WNCE2001 a different individuell password, or have all WNCE2001 the same password?

Bejobe
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old December 31st, 2011, 01:23 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNCE2001: Admin password possible?

if you can not change means... its all same..

see the guides and manual yourself at support.netgear.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:59 AM.