#1  
Old February 8th, 2012, 06:00 PM
shelquis shelquis is offline
Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 30
shelquis is on a distinguished road
Default How to Connect to 5GHz Channel?

Hi, I've got a WNDR3700v2 that's an access point for an XP and a Win7. On the Win7 machine, I can only connect to the 2.4GHz channel.

When I click on the signal bars in the task panel and bring up the Network and Sharing Center, it shows I'm connected to the 2.4GHz channel. If I click on View your active networks, Connect or disconnect, it shows I'm connected to the 2.4GHZ channel, and it shows some neighbor's networks, but it doesn't even list my 5GHz channel.

When I click on Manage Wireless Networks in the left side menu, it says Windows tries to connect to these networks in the order listed, and it lists my 5GHz channel first, and the 2.4GHz channel is listed second, so that looks right, but for some reason it's not connecting to the 5GHz channel.

Does anyone have any ideas how I can make the 5GHz channel show up so I can connect to it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 13th, 2012, 10:41 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to Connect to 5GHz Channel?

pc must support dual band (dual band wifi adapter )
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 14th, 2012, 04:36 AM
shelquis shelquis is offline
Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 30
shelquis is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to Connect to 5GHz Channel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
pc must support dual band (dual band wifi adapter )
Thanks for the reply June. Here's my computer adapter info from msinfo. It doesn't specifically say "dual band", but since it mentions b, g and n, I assumed it was. What's your opinion?

Name [00000011] Dell Wireless 1502 802.11b/g/n
Adapter Type Ethernet 802.3
Product Type Dell Wireless 1502 802.11b/g/n
Installed Yes
PNP Device ID PCI\VEN_168C&DEV_002B&SUBSYS_02041028&REV_01\00151 7FFFF24141200
Last Reset 2/10/2012 3:41 PM
Index 11
Service Name athr
IP Address 192.168.1.7, fe80::18aa:5efc:58f8:f334
IP Subnet 255.255.255.0, 64
Default IP Gateway 192.168.1.1
DHCP Enabled Yes
DHCP Server 192.168.1.1
DHCP Lease Expires 3/13/2012 11:58 PM
DHCP Lease Obtained 2/12/2012 10:58 PM
MAC Address E45:3D:88:2F:2E
Memory Address 0xFE400000-0xFE4FFFFF
IRQ Channel IRQ 17
Driver c:\windows\system32\drivers\athrx.sys (9.1.0.328, 2.26 MB (2,374,656 bytes), 12/5/2011 3:57 PM)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 14th, 2012, 05:50 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to Connect to 5GHz Channel?

Only supports 2.4Ghz
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 14th, 2012, 10:04 AM
shelquis shelquis is offline
Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 30
shelquis is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to Connect to 5GHz Channel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
Only supports 2.4Ghz
Thanks June. For my education, what identified that it supports 2.4GHz only?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 14th, 2012, 12:02 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to Connect to 5GHz Channel?

B/G/N

Dual band- A/B/G/N
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 14th, 2012, 12:24 PM
shelquis shelquis is offline
Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 30
shelquis is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to Connect to 5GHz Channel?

Thanks very much.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 3rd, 2012, 04:30 AM
TBW TBW is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 7
TBW is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to Connect to 5GHz Channel?

I have a 3400 router and have the same issue, the blue light never blinks. Looking and my lan card on my laptop, it does support 5GHz:

Realtek RTL8188CE Wireless LAN 802.11n PCI-E NIC

I tried enabling 11n AdHoc but that didn't do it.

Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old July 3rd, 2012, 04:41 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to Connect to 5GHz Channel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TBW View Post
I have a 3400 router and have the same issue, the blue light never blinks. Looking and my lan card on my laptop, it does support 5GHz:

Realtek RTL8188CE Wireless LAN 802.11n PCI-E NIC

I tried enabling 11n AdHoc but that didn't do it.

Any suggestions?
ad-hoc are not going do any for connecting to wireless router . ad-hoc is for other wifi device to connect your laptop directly

if you are wireless do NOT support 5Ghz than not use of trying. replace the PCI-C card with dual band support card or buy USB wifi adapter instead
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old August 21st, 2012, 06:11 PM
jpchey jpchey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
jpchey is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to Connect to 5GHz Channel?

How can I tell if my Network Adapter accepts dual band. I am running a Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter. It was pre-loaded onto my laptop.
.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:51 AM.