#1  
Old March 24th, 2012, 09:41 AM
high1 high1 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
high1 is on a distinguished road
Default Wireless-G Router WGR614v9 - password

Hello

I do not know the user name or password for my router and wonder how I may go about resetting it.

Thanks for any advice.

High1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 24th, 2012, 11:00 AM
sabretooth sabretooth is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,206
sabretooth is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Wireless-G Router WGR614v9 - password

Hard reset the router and reconfigure it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 24th, 2012, 11:42 AM
eladnava eladnava is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 31
eladnava is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Wireless-G Router WGR614v9 - password

By default:

admin
password



To reset, there is a little hole right near the antenna in the back, stick a pen and wait until the V in the front starts flashing orange.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 24th, 2012, 12:44 PM
high1 high1 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
high1 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Wireless-G Router WGR614v9 - password

Hello sabretooth

Many thanks for your reply.

I have done that: resetting the router for 20 secs, then turning it off at the mains foa short while, and resetting the router again before leaving it to settle down. The four lights at the front of the router that should be on are on.

I then go to the address bar at type in either http://www.routerlogin.net/ or the IP address which I get through the cmd prompt. I get a dialogue box asking me for a user name and password (I put in the default ones) and after trying it a couple of times I get another Web page that says: 'System Authentication Failed. Please contact your system administrator for the correct information'.

Would I need to contact my ISP about this?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 24th, 2012, 02:09 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Wireless-G Router WGR614v9 - password

if this router was supplied by the ISP then you may have branded firmware which are NOT same as netgear default user/pass

If this is the case contact ISP support
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 24th, 2012, 03:18 PM
high1 high1 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
high1 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Wireless-G Router WGR614v9 - password

Hello jmizoguchi

Oh, right. Thanks for explaining the difference.

I will contact the ISP.

Cheers

High1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 27th, 2012, 05:24 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Wireless-G Router WGR614v9 - password

Good luck and post your finding
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 27th, 2012, 05:42 AM
sabretooth sabretooth is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,206
sabretooth is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Wireless-G Router WGR614v9 - password

Look all over the router as ISPs usually put the login and password on the label of the router.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 27th, 2012, 05:48 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Wireless-G Router WGR614v9 - password

not all does

comcast don't think does. comcast uses cusadmin as username on some unit


sky also are common.. username on sky is sky
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 27th, 2012, 07:19 AM
high1 high1 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
high1 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Wireless-G Router WGR614v9 - password

Hello jmizoguchi

I managed to log-in with sky as the password, thanks.

I have changed the channel to 1 and the connection seems a lot more reliable.

I am getting the following results in Xirrus:

Speed:

Ping: 35ms
Download speed: 2.96Mbps
Upload speed: 0.69Mbps

Quality test:

Packet loss 0%
Ping 32ms
Jitter 4ms

Connection test:

Test Address Summary Result

DNS Reachable 192.168.0.1 Ping: 5 of 5, 3 msec latency - Pass
Gateway Reachable 192.168.0.1 Ping: 5 of 5, 6 msec latency - Pass
DNS Lookup www.google.com IP address: 173.194.66.105 - Pass
Internet Reachable 173.194.66.105 Ping: 5 of 5, 37 msec latency - Pass


It all seems OK at the moment.

Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:03 PM.