Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Adapters > RangeMax Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 4th, 2012, 12:30 PM
mgreen mgreen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
mgreen is on a distinguished road
Default Issue with two WNR3500L routers in one network

I have two WNR3500L routers in my network with a D-Link 8-port GigE switch between them. I use two routers so that I have wired and wireless network access at opposite ends of my house. However I am having trouble because I cannot access the web-based configuration of the secondary router anymore to configure it. Internet Explorer says the website is inaccessible.

I originally set up the routers this way:
Primary - DHCP on, IP = 192.168.1.1, Starting IP = 192.168.1.2, Ending IP = 192.168.1.254

Secondary - DHCP off, IP = 192.168.1.2

Are there any other settings I should configure to use two of these routers in the same network?

When I access setup in the primary router, the Attached Devices screen shows that it assigned 192.168.1.2 to my wireless printer even through I assigned this IP address to the secondary router in its setup menu.
When I enter 192.168.1.2 in Internet Explorer to access the secondary router's web-based setup, I get the web setup for my wireless printer instead. This seems like a conflict since both the router and printer cannot have the same IP address.

How can I access the secondary router's web-based setup?

After turning off DHCP on the secondary router, is it even possible then to access its web-based configuration anymore?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 4th, 2012, 04:56 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is online now
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 93,988
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Issue with two WNR3500L routers in one network

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/965
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 5th, 2012, 05:11 AM
fordem fordem is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6,981
fordem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Issue with two WNR3500L routers in one network

First - I advocate one network, one router - don't break this rule unless you know what you're doing. It's not that it can't be broken, I know of networks with dozens of routers, and have built more than a few such networks myself - however - such networks are implemented & managed by professionals.

Your first mistake is that you are setting your DHCP server lease pool in such a way that it can issue an ip address that you have already used as a static address (192.168.1.2) - IF you're going to use static addressing on a network with a DHCP server, you must configure the DHCP server so that it can NOT issue any of the addresses that you will set as static.

I configure my DHCP server to start issuing addresses from .101, leaving everything below that to be used as static - you might like to do something similar.

Configure the first router to issue addresses from 192.168.1.101 to 192.168.1.254, restart the router and all the clients one by one and then check the router to see if the devices are using the correct addresses, and if they are, try to reach the second router's web page at 192.168.1.2 and see what happens.
__________________
Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 22nd, 2012, 09:03 PM
mgreen mgreen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
mgreen is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Issue with two WNR3500L routers in one network

Jmizoguchi,

Thank you for your reply. Unfortunately this did not work. As soon as I change the IP address of the secondary router and turn off its DHCP function, I can no longer access the router's web-based configuration page, either at the new or old IP addresses.

Any other ideas?

Thanks for your help,
mgreen
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 22nd, 2012, 09:08 PM
mgreen mgreen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
mgreen is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Issue with two WNR3500L routers in one network

Fordem,

Thank you for your reply. I set the secondary router's IP address to be outside the DHCP server's (primary router's) IP address range. However, as soon as I change the IP address of the secondary router and turn off its DHCP function, I can no longer access its web-based configuration page.

There doesn't appear to be any way to access the secondary router's configuration when its DHCP function is turned off. Any other ideas?

Thanks,
mgreen
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 23rd, 2012, 04:46 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is online now
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 93,988
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Issue with two WNR3500L routers in one network

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgreen View Post
Jmizoguchi,

Thank you for your reply. Unfortunately this did not work. As soon as I change the IP address of the secondary router and turn off its DHCP function, I can no longer access the router's web-based configuration page, either at the new or old IP addresses.

Any other ideas?

Thanks for your help,
mgreen
off course you will not until you plug the unit setup as AP plug to existing network.

put static IP on your PC and access the device that is now has DHCP off.
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 23rd, 2012, 06:47 AM
fordem fordem is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6,981
fordem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Issue with two WNR3500L routers in one network

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgreen View Post
Fordem,

Thank you for your reply. I set the secondary router's IP address to be outside the DHCP server's (primary router's) IP address range. However, as soon as I change the IP address of the secondary router and turn off its DHCP function, I can no longer access its web-based configuration page.

There doesn't appear to be any way to access the secondary router's configuration when its DHCP function is turned off. Any other ideas?

Thanks,
mgreen
1) What is the primary router's ip address range?
2) What is the primary router's DHCP lease pool?
3) What did you set the secondary router's ip address to?
4) What ip address are you trying to access the secondary router's web page at?

The secondary router MUST be set to an ip address within the same network range as the primary router, but, outside of the primary router's DHCP lease pool. If you set the addresses correctly (and connect the router correctly), you will be able to access the secondary router regardless of whether it's DHCP functionality is on or off.
__________________
Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 23rd, 2012, 07:44 PM
mgreen mgreen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
mgreen is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Issue with two WNR3500L routers in one network

1) What is the primary router's ip address range?
The primary router's IP address is 192.168.1.1.

2) What is the primary router's DHCP lease pool?
192.168.1.2 - 192.168.1.199

3) What did you set the secondary router's ip address to?
192.168.1.200

4) What ip address are you trying to access the secondary router's web page at?
192.168.1.200

I can't explain why but it's working today. Thank you for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old April 24th, 2012, 03:28 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is online now
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 93,988
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Issue with two WNR3500L routers in one network

Looks like it suppose like URL I gave you .

Enjoy
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:56 AM.