Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 16th, 2012, 03:40 PM
raymondjpg raymondjpg is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
raymondjpg is on a distinguished road
Default Disable firewall

Is there a way to disable the router firewall under Basic Settings, without disabling NAT?

On my DGND3700 (fw V1.0.0.17_1.0.17) The option to disable the firewall cannot be selected if NAT is enabled.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 16th, 2012, 05:52 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,298
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Disable firewall

probably not.

firewall disable will end up using for passing routable IP from your ISP.

you should still setup with firewall enabled.

share the issues of what is having a problem
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 16th, 2012, 07:28 PM
w3wilkes w3wilkes is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 228
w3wilkes is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Disable firewall

Seems like if you're looking to do this for just a single machine on your network you could set it as a DMZ server. It still gets NAT'd.
Advanced -> WAN Setup
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 16th, 2012, 07:32 PM
w3wilkes w3wilkes is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 228
w3wilkes is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Disable firewall

And this gives full firewall protection to other machines on your network that aren't the DMZ machine. You'd also want to set the DMZ machine up with a static IP to ensure that the intended machine was always the same one.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 16th, 2012, 09:51 PM
raymondjpg raymondjpg is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
raymondjpg is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Disable firewall

Thanks for the responses.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
probably not.

firewall disable will end up using for passing routable IP from your ISP.

you should still setup with firewall enabled.

share the issues of what is having a problem
I have a Linux-based file player (not configurable) on the LAN that cannot browse Windows 7 shares. It can browse the shares if both NAT and the firewall are disabled.

Quote:
Originally Posted by w3wilkes View Post
Seems like if you're looking to do this for just a single machine on your network you could set it as a DMZ server. It still gets NAT'd.
Advanced -> WAN Setup
Putting either the file player or the Windows 7 pc in the DMZ makes no difference.

I have just tried a different router where the firewall and NAT can be disabled separately. Browsing only works with NAT disabled. So it looks more like a NAT than a firewall issue.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 17th, 2012, 09:26 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,298
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Disable firewall

Quote:
I have a Linux-based file player (not configurable) on the LAN that cannot browse Windows 7 shares. It can browse the shares if both NAT and the firewall are disabled.
Not sure the exact to say but you should see each other with NAT enabled.

What kind a third party firewall you are using?
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 17th, 2012, 07:49 PM
raymondjpg raymondjpg is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
raymondjpg is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Disable firewall

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
Not sure the exact to say but you should see each other with NAT enabled.

What kind a third party firewall you are using?
I agree that it should be able to browse through NAT.

The problem occurs with no third party firewall or antivirus installed on the system, and the Windows firewall turned off.

The media player discovers the Windows pc, but will not display the shares.

Another media player on the network has no such problems discovering the shares and shared files.

It looks like a SMB browsing limitation of the problem media player through NAT.

Maybe the Netgear techs have encountered similar problems? Do you know of any firmware betas for the DGND3700 that attempt to address this issue?

Regards
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:39 PM.