Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Storage, Entertainment, Print Servers & VOIP Devices > Multimedia Entertainment Devices > PTV1000/PTV2000 Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 1st, 2012, 10:03 AM
rsamd rsamd is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
rsamd is on a distinguished road
Default PTV2000 no 5.1 sound

Hi there,

ok i got a new notebook with widi support and the ptv2000 is connected via hdmi to my tv. the tv is connected to my 7.1 amp via optical. But all i get is a stereo signal on my amplifier. on my notebook under sound / playback devices the ptv device is selected. under preferences i can only select stereo output.
any solution for this plz?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 5th, 2012, 12:55 PM
buddyl316 buddyl316 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6
buddyl316 is on a distinguished road
Red face Re: PTV2000 no 5.1 sound

I have sound going to my bose V10 series home theater, but i only receive pcm 2.0 am not surround 5.1. any ideas what my problem might be. any help is appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 6th, 2012, 07:06 AM
StephenB StephenB is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5,821
StephenB is on a distinguished road
Default Re: PTV2000 no 5.1 sound

Quote:
Originally Posted by buddyl316 View Post
I have sound going to my bose V10 series home theater, but i only receive pcm 2.0 am not surround 5.1. any ideas what my problem might be. any help is appreciated
What processor does your laptop use?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 6th, 2012, 11:01 AM
buddyl316 buddyl316 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6
buddyl316 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: PTV2000 no 5.1 sound

Intel i3 in a samsung np-rc512 system
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 8th, 2012, 12:05 AM
StephenB StephenB is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5,821
StephenB is on a distinguished road
Default Re: PTV2000 no 5.1 sound

Quote:
Originally Posted by buddyl316 View Post
Intel i3 in a samsung np-rc512 system
That would be a i3-2310M? What matters is whether the processor is a first or second generation (e.g., Sandy Bridge)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 11th, 2012, 06:32 PM
buddyl316 buddyl316 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6
buddyl316 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: PTV2000 no 5.1 sound

It is a 2nd generation processor
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 13th, 2012, 09:51 AM
StephenB StephenB is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5,821
StephenB is on a distinguished road
Default Re: PTV2000 no 5.1 sound

Quote:
Originally Posted by buddyl316 View Post
It is a 2nd generation processor
Ok, that should support 5.1 audio out.

On the V10:
(a) is the speakers option set to "surround" in the options menu?
(b) is the sound option for stereo inputs set to Recommended or Alternative?
(c) is the PTV2000 is connected to the V10 with HDMI?

Also, does the media you are playing have a surround sound audio track?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 13th, 2012, 12:05 PM
buddyl316 buddyl316 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6
buddyl316 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: PTV2000 no 5.1 sound

Hi,

I talked with bose and my system is setup correctly to receive surround sound. I am setup from my ptv2000 using htmi cable and my video says that it is surround format when I run mediainfo app. but i only see pcm 2.0 coming over the wifi link to my bose then tv. Thanks again for any help
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 13th, 2012, 04:11 PM
StephenB StephenB is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5,821
StephenB is on a distinguished road
Default Re: PTV2000 no 5.1 sound

I ran across this link: http://communities.intel.com/message/157622

It is possible that the media file is 5.1 DTS? The link above suggests that only 5.1 Dolby Digital is supported.

Also note that the link says that you should check the WiDi software on the laptop to make sure you are running WiDi 2.1.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old July 3rd, 2012, 12:38 PM
buddyl316 buddyl316 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6
buddyl316 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: PTV2000 no 5.1 sound

Thanks for the info, I have many didderent files some are ac3 audio format , but I still only see pcm 2.0. I have 4.x widi so I think I have all the right apps. It is probably a setting but I don't know which one. I am using realtek hd audio manager, but I only see stereo speakers as the speaker options. Do I need to make it think that the audio is surround some how., even though I have nothing connected to the audio output jacks.

Thanks for helping me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:25 AM.