#1  
Old June 12th, 2012, 02:49 PM
Kayy Kayy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Kayy is on a distinguished road
Arrow WNR2000 Port Forwarding!

Hello and thanks for reading. Let me start off by saying i've been searching google for a solution for my problem and tried alot of stuff (including hardreset) , well sadly though i've made about zero progress.

So here's the problem: I need to forward a port (could be any) so i start the netgear "smartwizard" and klick on portforwarding, add custom service and so on... well basically i do what i have to but it just doesn't quite give me any results.

I've been suspecting that it has something to do with my default gateway/ipv4 address (10.0.0.1/4) because that's not what my ip should look like... i guess?

So if you can help me, thanks a lot and i know that you've probably read questions like mine far too often already so i'm sorry but as i said i couldn't find a solution (today i literally searched the whole day).
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 12th, 2012, 03:04 PM
fordem fordem is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,363
fordem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR2000 Port Forwarding!

Assuming that the 10.0.0.1/4 address you've provided is what the router shows as the gateway, that will certainly be one possible issue - it's a private ip address.

What sort of modem is the WNR2000 connected to?
__________________
Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 12th, 2012, 03:17 PM
Kayy Kayy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Kayy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR2000 Port Forwarding!

Well, i'm not sure if you're looking for any specific information about the modem but it's a "Vood 422", a rather old modem that was handed out by my ISP.

Sorry if i'm missing the point as you can tell my knowledge in this area is rather small.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 12th, 2012, 10:44 PM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,493
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR2000 Port Forwarding!

I believe Fordem is suggesting that your modem is also a router, and a ‘Google’ of ‘Vood 422’ seems to agree (though most links are in German and I’m not clever enough to speak two languages, struggle with English sometimes).

Anyway, it’s a common problem, and is typically resolved by putting the modem/router (the Vood) into ‘Bridged Mode’ so that it operates as a modem only. Commonly when this is done you will lose your Internet connection via the modem directly (since it no longer logs in to your ISP) until you connect and re-configure (I suggest a factory reset) the Netgear router and provide it with your ISP login details (so make sure you know those details before you start).
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 13th, 2012, 04:48 AM
fordem fordem is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,363
fordem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR2000 Port Forwarding!

Andy is correct - the reason I asked about the modem was so that I could determine if it's just a modem or a modem/router - and it appears to be a modem/router, so that what you have is a daisy chain, sort of like this ...

modem/router => netgear-router

The situation here is that you're trying to configure port forwarding on the netgear router, but, the data packets never reach the netgear because they are dropped by the Vood.

As Andy says, putting the Vood into "bridged mode" is the solution - since it's an ISP provided device give them a call and ask for help.
__________________
Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 8th, 2012, 09:25 AM
dgp dgp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
dgp is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR2000 Port Forwarding!

Since updating the firmware in my wnr2000v2 I get the following error:

The specified port(s) are being used by other configurations. Please check your configurations of Remote Management, Port forwarding, Port Triggering, UPnP Port Mapping table, RIP, and Internet connection type

Prior to the firmware upgrade port forwarding worked with no probs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 8th, 2012, 10:06 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNR2000 Port Forwarding!

you MUST hard reset the router after flashing the firmware
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:49 AM.