Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Storage, Entertainment, Print Servers & VOIP Devices > Stora Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 25th, 2012, 01:00 PM
flyingmogli flyingmogli is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
flyingmogli is on a distinguished road
Default Lost Password - what can I do?

Hello,

I've lost the password for my Stora MS2000 and so I can't get the stored datas anymore.

What can I do?

Best regards,
Mo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 25th, 2012, 04:09 PM
ossienet ossienet is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 210
ossienet is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Lost Password - what can I do?

Hard reset.
Reinstall Stora software with same userid and new password.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 26th, 2012, 04:26 AM
flyingmogli flyingmogli is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
flyingmogli is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Lost Password - what can I do?

This I have already done.
I can connect the stora, can also open new users and already have used also the same user-name. So the stora works, but I can not see my datas which I have stored with the old (now unknown) password.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 26th, 2012, 07:11 AM
rsinj rsinj is offline
Senior Member
Advanced NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 630
rsinj is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Lost Password - what can I do?

I think first thing to do is to log in to Stora as root (use telnetEnable for example), go under /home and browse around to be sure your files are still there. If yes, then we can try something else. If no, then there is nothing more to try.
__________________
Howard
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 26th, 2012, 06:09 PM
robyb's Avatar
robyb robyb is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,544
robyb is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Lost Password - what can I do?

Use the provided password-reset tool on the Setup CD -> Reset Tools. It shows you the username list, you choose the one you want to reset and enter a new password. That simple!

Cheers,
Roby!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 27th, 2012, 01:17 AM
flyingmogli flyingmogli is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
flyingmogli is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Lost Password - what can I do?

I made the Reset and also used the old username with a new password.

Now I can communicate with the STORA, I can see in the statistic that 1/3 of the HDDs are full (the old datas), I can also write on the HDDs, but I can't see my old datas that I've stored with the old (unknown) password.

The routine with the Reset and the new Password is only to get access to the hardware, but not to get access to the old data...but this is, what I'm searching for.

Every further help would be very nice! Thx from Austria.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 27th, 2012, 09:25 AM
rsinj rsinj is offline
Senior Member
Advanced NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 630
rsinj is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Lost Password - what can I do?

I would root in to the Stora as mentioned before. Go under /home and locate your files. Then copy or move them under the admin id you have reset and execute chown/chgrp/chmod/etc on them if necessary to get them visible again.

Again, just what I would do.

Good luck.
__________________
Howard
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 28th, 2012, 11:11 AM
robyb's Avatar
robyb robyb is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,544
robyb is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Lost Password - what can I do?

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyingmogli View Post
I made the Reset and also used the old username with a new password.

Now I can communicate with the STORA, I can see in the statistic that 1/3 of the HDDs are full (the old datas), I can also write on the HDDs, but I can't see my old datas that I've stored with the old (unknown) password.

The routine with the Reset and the new Password is only to get access to the hardware, but not to get access to the old data...but this is, what I'm searching for.

Every further help would be very nice! Thx from Austria.
Then that means you've logged in to the wrong old user. Proceed with the password reset for every other existing user until you find the one containing your data.

Cheers,
Roby!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:00 AM.