#1  
Old August 9th, 2012, 08:15 PM
blacksunshine blacksunshine is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 16
blacksunshine is on a distinguished road
Default disable firewall WNDR4500

How do I completely disable the firewall on my WNDR4500. I have no time to open the crap ton of ports needed for all my devices. Please let me know how I can do this.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old August 9th, 2012, 08:33 PM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: disable firewall WNDR4500

use DMZ in the router settings
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 9th, 2012, 09:17 PM
blacksunshine blacksunshine is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 16
blacksunshine is on a distinguished road
Default Re: disable firewall WNDR4500

Could you be a lil more specific.....do just disable it? or are there other settings?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 9th, 2012, 09:21 PM
blacksunshine blacksunshine is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 16
blacksunshine is on a distinguished road
Default Re: disable firewall WNDR4500

i am new to the netgear system, it confuses me to no end.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 10th, 2012, 02:18 AM
sabretooth sabretooth is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,194
sabretooth is on a distinguished road
Default Re: disable firewall WNDR4500

You do not want to disable the router firewall, ever. It protects the router from outside attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old August 10th, 2012, 04:49 AM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: disable firewall WNDR4500

Quote:
Originally Posted by blacksunshine View Post
Could you be a lil more specific.....do just disable it? or are there other settings?
DMZ is under WAN setup..

read manual regarding to DMZ.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old August 10th, 2012, 07:11 AM
blacksunshine blacksunshine is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 16
blacksunshine is on a distinguished road
Default Re: disable firewall WNDR4500

I don't need a firewall. ppl can attack me all they want. nothing on my computer to steal. Plus i have other ways to keep the bad guys at bay. I am just upset that netgear won't let you physically disable it. I would much rather use pc software then router firewalls. My linksys was very easy to disable. got amazing speeds and never had to worry about it getting slow. the netgear has some pretty goofy things. for example. I download TV shows for my granny from india. I was getting 5.8mb download speed and since i installed the WNDR4500 i get 600kb/s (give or take) and QoS is useless, port forwarding doesn't work....i dunno whatelse to do. I have never used DMZ and the instructions with this router are pathetic. doesn't explain how to do anything and what it all means........ So yea. I hate firewalls and DMZ makes no sense since nothing explains the proper procedure to fixing it. However I notice the DMZ server address can be changed. what happens if i make it 192.168.1.1????
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old August 10th, 2012, 09:32 AM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: disable firewall WNDR4500

You can not assign router IP in DMZ
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old August 10th, 2012, 09:46 AM
blacksunshine blacksunshine is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 16
blacksunshine is on a distinguished road
Default Re: disable firewall WNDR4500

so would you care to explain the workings of a DMZ server. Documetation explains nothing as does the interwebs
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old August 10th, 2012, 10:11 AM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: disable firewall WNDR4500

By pass firewall
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:15 AM.