#1  
Old September 18th, 2012, 08:27 AM
Tikiman2012 Tikiman2012 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 21
Tikiman2012 is on a distinguished road
Question Xbox 360 Dropping Connection

My 6300 drops the wireless connection to my xbox 360. The xbox shows 5 full bars but is very slow. I use it as an extender. When I run the network tuning wizard in Windows Media Center Extender on the xbox it shows 1 bar sometimes, sometimes it drops the connection. If I switch back to the xbox dashboard & check the signal strength it still shows 5 full bars. Signing into xbox live is painfully slow. The xbox gets disconnected if I try to stream anything from my HTPC. The HTPC is wired. With the xbox wired everything works as it should.

I setup my WNDR3700v2 as an access point. I connected to the 2.4 Ghz on the 3700 without any problems. Xbox shows 5 bars in extender mode & on the dashboard. Network speed in this configuration behaves just like a wired connection. Very fast. This test eliminated the xbox as the problem.

My laptop & my small kitchen HTPC connect at between 300 & 450 Mbps on both the 2.4 & 5 Ghz bands. Network transfer speeds are right where they should be.

There are no other wireless networks in my area. I did not have any other wireless devices turned on when trying to get the xbox to connect to the 6300.

These tests confirmed that the problem lies with the 6300. Using firmware version 1.0.2.26_1.0.26

Anybody else have this problem?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 3rd, 2012, 08:25 AM
madhatter's Avatar
madhatter madhatter is offline
Senior Member
Advanced NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 706
madhatter is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Xbox 360 Dropping Connection

My 6300 drops the wireless connection to my xbox 360. The xbox shows 5 full bars but is very slow. I use it as an extender.

What are you using as an extender? the XBox or the R6300?

It almost sounds like either the XBox or the Media Center is connecting to another wireless network, like a neighbor, perhaps? When you connect to the 3700, you are connecting to your LAN. How do you have the 3700 configured? where does it get its network connection from?
__________________
1xR6300 AC1750 V1 - V1.0.2.68_1.0.49 whole house router+wireless. 45 devices connected.
1xR6300 AC1750 V1 - V1.0.2.68_1.0.49 backup
1xWNDR3700 N600 V2 - V1.0.1.14 provides internet to my back yard
2xWNDR3400 N600 V1 - V1.0.0.50_20.0.59 running faithfully in a crowded apt building
2xWNDR3300 N600 V1 - V1.0.45 over 2 years since reboot
3xWRT54G/GS - DD-WRT what can you say about the legendary WRT54
DIR-615 vC1 3.13NA - great little router
DIR-655 vA3 1.37NA - RETIRED never worked right with OOMA
EDIMAX EW-7416APn v2 1.13
all NETGEARS are factory recertified except 1xWNDR3400

HOW TO: My router firmware upgrade instructions:
http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=81662

HOW TO: Reinstall the firmware on a router without the setup CD recovery tool
http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/19841/~/reinstall-the-firmware-on-a-router-without-the-setup-cd-recovery-tool

Last edited by Mars Mug; October 3rd, 2012 at 10:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 3rd, 2012, 10:06 PM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Xbox 360 Dropping Connection

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tikiman2012 View Post
Are you trying to be a smartass?

Read the post.
If you are coming to get forum to get help. BE HUMBLE and reply with neutral.

You posted in offended way. Think twice before you post
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 3rd, 2012, 10:22 PM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,472
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Xbox 360 Dropping Connection

Tikiman2012, your last post has been removed, do not respond in such a disrespectful way again to someone who is trying to help you.
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 5th, 2012, 07:07 AM
kucerarj kucerarj is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
kucerarj is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Xbox 360 Dropping Connection

I'm having the same issues. I'm using the Xbox 360 as a media extender and getting horrible performance. Laptops are fine but interface in mediacenter lags really bad. Used the tune network option (within mediacenter) and bandwidth is very low. The Xbox is showing great signal strength. And I checked with my laptop from that location and I'm getting better signal strength than with my Linksys AP. When using the Linksys AP, the bandwidth graph is at the top of the scale where the R6300 is near the bottom. I'm running the latest firmware (R6300-V1.0.2.36_1.0.28). I was hoping for better range (which is seems like it has), but not working with my xbox as an extender is a deal breaker.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 5th, 2012, 09:34 AM
Tikiman2012 Tikiman2012 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 21
Tikiman2012 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Xbox 360 Dropping Connection

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mars Mug View Post
Tikiman2012, your last post has been removed, do not respond in such a disrespectful way again to someone who is trying to help you.
It wasn't disrespectful. It was a direct & honest question. He asked questions that were directly answered in my original post. I wasn't trying to offend anyone. Sorry if I came across that way. I am a very direct person.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 5th, 2012, 09:42 AM
Tikiman2012 Tikiman2012 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 21
Tikiman2012 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Xbox 360 Dropping Connection

Quote:
Originally Posted by kucerarj View Post
I'm having the same issues. I'm using the Xbox 360 as a media extender and getting horrible performance. Laptops are fine but interface in mediacenter lags really bad. Used the tune network option (within mediacenter) and bandwidth is very low. The Xbox is showing great signal strength. And I checked with my laptop from that location and I'm getting better signal strength than with my Linksys AP. When using the Linksys AP, the bandwidth graph is at the top of the scale where the R6300 is near the bottom. I'm running the latest firmware (R6300-V1.0.2.36_1.0.28). I was hoping for better range (which is seems like it has), but not working with my xbox as an extender is a deal breaker.
I had read somewhere that not using channel 1 on the 2.4Ghz band helps. I have tried different channels & it hasn't helped me. I switched back to firmware V1.0.2.10_1.0.21. Going to give V1.0.2.36_1.0.28 a try & see if it helps me. I'll let ya know what I find.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 5th, 2012, 11:04 AM
kucerarj kucerarj is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
kucerarj is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Xbox 360 Dropping Connection

I tried different channels too. And changed about every setting I could think of. I'm wondering if the xbox is connecting at b/g instead of n. Family is using network right now so can't mess with it (I put the Linksys back in).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 5th, 2012, 01:54 PM
flyboymaverick flyboymaverick is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
flyboymaverick is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Xbox 360 Dropping Connection

My Xbox 360 drops connection to Xbox Live while it is HARD WIRED to the R6300. I've opened all ports that Xbox suggests, given the Xbox a static IP and reserved it on the R6300 but It will only stay connected for a short period (10-20 minutes) and will disconnect while in play or streaming. The connection is stable while connected to my modem. (but then there's no access to my NAS) Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old October 6th, 2012, 02:04 AM
Tikiman2012 Tikiman2012 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 21
Tikiman2012 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Xbox 360 Dropping Connection

Still have the problem with the xbox with the new firmware. It's fine when it's wired. Going back to using my WNDR3700v2. At least that router is reliable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:11 PM.