#1  
Old September 21st, 2012, 07:13 AM
velomark velomark is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
velomark is on a distinguished road
Default How to assign Static IP Addresses to certain Devices

I recently purchased the R6300 and want to set up time limits for when my kids can access the internet, while not limiting the devices my wife and I use. I figured out, by reading the manual, how to block a range of IP addresses from a specified service (Http) according to a schedule. Because IP addresses are randomly assigned, I need to make sure my kids devices are assigned IP addresses within the limited range but the adults are not. I am unable to find the procedure in the user manual. Technical support does not seem to understand this. Is this possible??

Thanks

Velo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 21st, 2012, 07:29 AM
fordem fordem is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,404
fordem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to assign Static IP Addresses to certain Devices

The probable reason why tech support cannot understand is that you are using the term static address incorrectly.

You cannot assign a static address to a device using the router - any device that gets it's address from the router is doing so using the DHCP (Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol), which means it's getting a dynamic address.

Static addresses have to be set at whatever device will have the address - assuming that you can configure a static address on that device, for example, I've never found a way to set a static address on my android tablet (mind you, I haven't looked very hard).

If you want the router to assign the same address to a device every time, you need to use what is called DHCP reservations, or reserved DHCP addresses - see if you find that in the manual. And - by the way - it will probably take your kids less time to figure out how to defeat your control, that it takes you to set it up.
__________________
Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 21st, 2012, 07:47 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to assign Static IP Addresses to certain Devices

recently found cool service
http://www.mobicip.com

you might even like this better than tradition all ports blocking and time schedule
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 27th, 2012, 01:26 PM
EthernetIp EthernetIp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
EthernetIp is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to assign Static IP Addresses to certain Devices

Although I do not have the router in front of it, all the ones that I've touched had the "static" ip option.
In short the Router identifies the MAC during the DHCP and assigns the device with this MAC a specific predefined IP, thus making it work as static IP. (not true static, but it works).
If you assign a device a static IP, but DHCP on router is not skipping this static IP then you will end up with IP collision, so not a good idea. If you go this route the easiest is to go to routers DHCP section and make it start at say x.x.x.20
the assign your "static" device Ip at x.x.x.10 or something less then 20...
Typically the option is somewhere under the DHCP section.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 27th, 2012, 02:01 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to assign Static IP Addresses to certain Devices

simply two of doing this

static IP on DEVICE side must be outside of DHCP range

specific IP pushing to DEVICE side from the router must be use within DHCP with address reservation under LAN setup
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 27th, 2012, 02:37 PM
fordem fordem is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,404
fordem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to assign Static IP Addresses to certain Devices

Quote:
Originally Posted by EthernetIp View Post
Although I do not have the router in front of it, all the ones that I've touched had the "static" ip option.
In short the Router identifies the MAC during the DHCP and assigns the device with this MAC a specific predefined IP, thus making it work as static IP. (not true static, but it works).
If you assign a device a static IP, but DHCP on router is not skipping this static IP then you will end up with IP collision, so not a good idea. If you go this route the easiest is to go to routers DHCP section and make it start at say x.x.x.20
the assign your "static" device Ip at x.x.x.10 or something less then 20...
Typically the option is somewhere under the DHCP section.
Do I really need to explain further? Do you really feel you need to further obfuscate the issue?

Let's call a spade, a spade.

It's either static - or it's not - if it's static, then it doesn't need a DHCP server - if it's dependent on a DHCP server, it's dynamic.

IF YOU'RE SETTING IT AT THE ROUTER IT IS NOT STATIC.
__________________
Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.

Last edited by fordem; September 27th, 2012 at 02:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 30th, 2012, 10:30 AM
varase varase is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 33
varase is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to assign Static IP Addresses to certain Devices

Well, it's a fixed IP assignment by MAC address. I used to do it all the time for printers on an ISC DHCP setup (when the admins didn't realize they could manually configure our RX printers).

What I do on my R6300 is set the dynamic range from 150-250, then assign fixed addresses below the dynamic range. You do this by entering the MAC address for the device (or turning it on and picking from a list) and assigning it a name and a fixed IP address. For this setup, you'd pick an address 2-149 or 251-254 (I'd use 2-149 ... start at 2 and work your way up).

Try to keep the fixed address assignments from colliding with the dynamic IP addresses - it's programmatically possible to prevent fixed addresses from colliding with dynamic assignments, but why put yourself in the path of the truck?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 30th, 2012, 11:18 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to assign Static IP Addresses to certain Devices

When you use address reservation on router , ip you choose must be within the dhcp range

Only use outside the dhcp range when you setup static ip in each device itself
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 30th, 2012, 12:22 PM
varase varase is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 33
varase is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to assign Static IP Addresses to certain Devices

Beg to differ, but I'm currently using a dynamic address range of 150-250, and DHCP has (per my instructions) assigned the device with my MAC address 192.168.1.13.

There can be no danger of collision if the fixed address assignments are out of the dyanamic range.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old September 30th, 2012, 12:31 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to assign Static IP Addresses to certain Devices

If rules took out of dchp range for ip then that is fine bit just about all Netgear home end router should use with dhcp pool to function
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:23 PM.