Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11ac Routers > R6300 - AC1750

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 4th, 2012, 10:29 AM
pbmpharmacist pbmpharmacist is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
pbmpharmacist is on a distinguished road
Default New Firmware: 1.0.2.36_1.0.28

I'm going to try this when I get home!

R6300-V1.0.2.36_1.0.28

New Features & Enhancements:

Added Turkish language support in GUI.
Added Russia WAN Wizard and Russian IPTV support.
Added 2.4g HT20/HT40 coexistence disable button so router can stay in HT40 to have higher link rate, even there are some wireless interference surrounding.
Change Web GUI display issue when radio is disabled.
Change MiniDLNA code base to fix SQL attack issue.
Added GUID partition table support.
Bug Fixes:

Fixed Broadcast Name on Router Status page displayed off when SSID Broadcast is enabled.
Javascript error displayed after fill in the Router's PIN number and click "Next" to start the WPS process on IE9.
Fixed 5Ghz Signal degrades or link rate drop after R6300 running after couple weeks in some noisy\interference environment.
To Install

Note: Do not upgrade the firmware using a wireless connection. Please perform firmware upgrade with “wired” or Ethernet connection only.

Write down all the settings which you changed from the default values, since you may need to reenter them manually.
Download using the button below to a convenient place such as your desktop.
Log in to the router using a Web browser. The URL is http://www.routerlogin.net.
Click ADVANCED tab > Administration > Firmware Upgrade.
Click Browse and find the file you just downloaded.
Click Upload. Do not interrupt the upgrade while the router does this step.

Important Note:

1. The upgrade process is completed when the on screen progress bar completes. If power LED light turns amber and blinking, power cycle the router to complete the upgrade.

2. If the upgrade progress bar on web GUI doesn’t display correctly during firmware upgrade, you can still check the status using Power LED. The Power LED should be blinking (amber) during firmware upgrade. After firmware upgrade is done and boots up the system, it changes to steady amber color.
Please DO NOT power off or reboot the device during firmware upgrade, otherwise, it may result to a corrupt firmware and cause the device not to work.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 4th, 2012, 12:26 PM
Mark_K's Avatar
Mark_K Mark_K is offline
Senior Member
Advanced NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 572
Mark_K is on a distinguished road
Default Re: New Firmware: 1.0.2.36_1.0.28

Me Too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 4th, 2012, 12:30 PM
Mark_K's Avatar
Mark_K Mark_K is offline
Senior Member
Advanced NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 572
Mark_K is on a distinguished road
Default Re: New Firmware: 1.0.2.36_1.0.28

I will b installing this on Friday.
Also I will be testing this with the a6200 adaptor!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 4th, 2012, 03:20 PM
madhatter's Avatar
madhatter madhatter is offline
Senior Member
Advanced NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 628
madhatter is on a distinguished road
Default Re: New Firmware: 1.0.2.36_1.0.28

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_K View Post
I will b installing this on Friday.
Also I will be testing this with the a6200 adaptor!
It feels faster than .21
__________________
1xR6300 V1 - V1.0.2.36_1.0.28 Backup
1xR6300 V1 - V1.0.2.68_1.0.49 Currently in Production
1xWNDR3700 V2 - V1.0.1.14
2xWNDR3400 V1 - V1.0.0.50_20.0.59
2xWNDR3300 V1 - V1.0.45
3xWRT54G/GS - DD-WRT
DIR-615 - RETIRED
DIR-655 - RETIRED

HOW TO: My router firmware upgrade instructions:
http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=81662

HOW TO: Reinstall the firmware on a router without the setup CD recovery tool
http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/19841/~/reinstall-the-firmware-on-a-router-without-the-setup-cd-recovery-tool
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 5th, 2012, 06:49 AM
madhatter's Avatar
madhatter madhatter is offline
Senior Member
Advanced NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 628
madhatter is on a distinguished road
Default Re: New Firmware: 1.0.2.36_1.0.28

Upgrade Notes:
1) Latest FW seems to be working good.
2) I initially upgraded using a wired machine. I used the 6300's administrative page to do the upgrade
3) After the upgrade I had internet access for a short period of time, but then lost internet access on all of my machines
4) I then performed a Reset to Defaults | Upgrade | Reset to Defaults and rekeyed my settings (reservations / port forwards, DHCP range, etc.)
5) I noticed that my machines weren't picking up the reserved DHCP's properly and I had lots of IP conflicts after making reservations. I have 44 devices and some get IP's reserved, some are static, and some just get whatever DHCP hands out.
6) Unlike previous FW upgrades, I had to power on/off or reboot many of my devices in order to get the proper IP's handed out to them, they didn't seem to get reset on their own. This was after powering the router on/off a couple times.

Once I got through those steps, the new version has been working good. I guess the only recommendation I would make is to do the RESET TO DEFAULT upfront before starting the upgrade and it will save a step in the process.
__________________
1xR6300 V1 - V1.0.2.36_1.0.28 Backup
1xR6300 V1 - V1.0.2.68_1.0.49 Currently in Production
1xWNDR3700 V2 - V1.0.1.14
2xWNDR3400 V1 - V1.0.0.50_20.0.59
2xWNDR3300 V1 - V1.0.45
3xWRT54G/GS - DD-WRT
DIR-615 - RETIRED
DIR-655 - RETIRED

HOW TO: My router firmware upgrade instructions:
http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=81662

HOW TO: Reinstall the firmware on a router without the setup CD recovery tool
http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/19841/~/reinstall-the-firmware-on-a-router-without-the-setup-cd-recovery-tool
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 5th, 2012, 03:51 PM
Mark_K's Avatar
Mark_K Mark_K is offline
Senior Member
Advanced NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 572
Mark_K is on a distinguished road
Default Re: New Firmware: 1.0.2.36_1.0.28

Ok

Just installed my new Netgear A6200 WIFI USB adapter and i am now getting 585 Mbps on 5G.

I am now going to install the new firm ware and see what that does.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 6th, 2012, 02:08 AM
Tikiman2012 Tikiman2012 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 21
Tikiman2012 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: New Firmware: 1.0.2.36_1.0.28

Connections are at the same speed although the throughput seems to be more stable. Not as many hiccups. It is still suffering from the Xbox problem though. Shelving it & going back to my WNDR3700v2.

They better get their act together with this thing. I'm starting to smell a class action suit coming.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 6th, 2012, 03:33 AM
Mark_K's Avatar
Mark_K Mark_K is offline
Senior Member
Advanced NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 572
Mark_K is on a distinguished road
Default Re: New Firmware: 1.0.2.36_1.0.28

OK now after the upgrade I am steady at a signal of 585Mbps on 5G. However this is with the new A6200 wirless adaptor.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 6th, 2012, 05:10 AM
cosrocket cosrocket is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 9
cosrocket is on a distinguished road
Default Re: New Firmware: 1.0.2.36_1.0.28

So far so good. I updated the firmware yesterday morning and so far the 5GHz band has been stable. I have also noticed that my neighbors networks show stronger signals than they have before upgrading the firmware.

I'm not going to be sure this is really the fix until I see several days of 5GHz stability. It's been 4 months since I purchased this router and have not had a good experience with it up to now. When you purchase a product you shouldn't have to wait 4 months to have the useability you purchased it for in the first place. I just hope this fixes the problem once and for all.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old October 6th, 2012, 10:45 AM
Tikiman2012 Tikiman2012 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 21
Tikiman2012 is on a distinguished road
Question Re: New Firmware: 1.0.2.36_1.0.28

Quick question. What colors are the bottom LED's suppose to be with the new firmware? Or what are your user experiences?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:19 AM.