#1  
Old October 6th, 2012, 08:17 AM
Tiller Tiller is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Tiller is on a distinguished road
Default Connect two netgear router

Hello,

Here is my situation :

I have to ISP at home, and two Netgear modem/router.

The first one is mine, a DG834G v2. His lan is set on 192.168.0.0 / 255.255.255.0

The second one (CG3100L), is also a netgear router, but the ISP one. His lan is set on 192.168.1.0 / 255.255.255.0

And I want to do a simple think : Create a link between those two routers.

What does that mean exactly ?

I don't want to share the internet connection, I don't want a load balancer.

I just want that, if my IP is 192.168.0.2 I can access device at 192.168.1.3.

The thing that seemt logical to me was to simply plug an ethernet cable between the two router. But it doesn't work !

As soon as I plug the cable, my first router (DG834G) loose it connection with the ISP. On the router status, it loops on "LCP is ready to UP" / "Disconnect".

And as soon as I unplug the cable, the connection come back.

So here is my question :

Is this possible ? If it is, how ?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 6th, 2012, 10:34 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Connect two netgear router

you can not have BOTH DHCP enabled on router. ONLY one DHCP

You will need to setup static route that does DHCP to have other subnet able to access specific device
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 7th, 2012, 07:13 AM
Tiller Tiller is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Tiller is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Connect two netgear router

Thanks you !

But at the end, the DHCP was just a part of the problem.

The main problem was my Raspberry Pi -_-

When I had my raspberry electrically plugged and my two routers inter-connected, my 1st router lost his connection.
But as soon as I turn my Raspberry off, the connection came back..

Even if the raspbery wasn't on the network, just an electrical problem..

To sum up :
- Raspberry on + no cable between the routers = OK
- Raspberry off + cable = OK
- Raspberry on + cable = FAIL

I changed my raspberry adapter and there is no more problem
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 7th, 2012, 08:14 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Connect two netgear router

Sounds like a plan! Enjoy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:00 PM.