#1  
Old January 6th, 2013, 12:20 PM
aSteve641 aSteve641 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
aSteve641 is on a distinguished road
Default Netgear router configuration

I feel as if I'm having a blonde moment - at first I assumed that configuration would be trivial... but, now, as I try to do so in practice - it's turning out to be much harder than I expected. Any hints tips/tricks welcome.

I've two rooms containing equipment - at opposite ends of a building. There's an 80mbit ethernet-over-mains link between them. In "location A", I've a Netgear DG834g - which acts as a NAT/firewall. Connected to this, by Ethernet, is a SmartTV, and an ethernet-over-mains adaptor. In "location B" there's a netgear router (which has been flashed with DD-WRT... for historic reasons.) Its uplink is connected to the second ethernet-over-mains adaptor... and there are further connections for a "desktop" and "server" designated PCs. The server runs minidlna - serving music and video.

Unsurprisingly, the SmartTV can't find the server - as, while they've all be configured to reside on the same subnet - the ADSL router assumes that all traffic that is not destined for a directly attached device is destined to be routed over ADSL... it is blissfully unaware that I've another LAN accessible from the second router.

My question: What's the cheapest/quickest/easiest way to solve this? (I'd prefer to stick to wired connections rather than try and connect the TV to the second router wirelessly...)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 6th, 2013, 06:23 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Netgear router configuration

setup 2nd unit a access point
http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/965
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 13th, 2013, 01:31 AM
aSteve641 aSteve641 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
aSteve641 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Netgear router configuration

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
This is (almost exactly) the configuration I already have... the only difference is that my router and modem are a combined unit.

This configuration does allow me to access the internet from every port on both the modem/router and the access point. All the devices connected to the access point can communicate. Unfortunately, devices attached directly to the modem/router can't address my server attached to the access point.

The more I think about this, I suspect it is an inherent limitation of the Netgear DG834g adsl-modem/router... which routes everything to an address other that of directly attached devices to the internet.

I guess one strategy may involve port-mapping on the "access point" router - so my DLNA server appears to be present as a service on the router, as opposed to the server attached to it, and that should mean that other devices, like the "access point" router, directly attached to the modem/router should be able to see it.

Time to read some howtos. :-S
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 13th, 2013, 08:55 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Netgear router configuration

Setup concept still same so combo unit will able to setup as AP
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:16 PM.