#31  
Old March 7th, 2013, 10:31 AM
sparks003 sparks003 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
sparks003 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Remote Home Surveillance Cameras Monitoring not working

Apologies, yes it works fine on my lan wired and wireless even on my iPhone3 when in wifi. Just not remote as the ports didn't open.

Also, I'm using a different DVR system, Defender is the brand.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old March 7th, 2013, 04:41 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Remote Home Surveillance Cameras Monitoring not working

This port 9000 from the mobile phone. Who you are access it
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old March 8th, 2013, 07:44 AM
fordem fordem is online now
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,558
fordem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Remote Home Surveillance Cameras Monitoring not working

How is the ip address on the DVR configured? If DHCP, is it a reserved address? If static, do you have a default gateway entry?
__________________
Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old March 8th, 2013, 04:07 PM
sparks003 sparks003 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
sparks003 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Remote Home Surveillance Cameras Monitoring not working

Yes mine works on the LAN but not WAN or outside my router. If it is my ISP would dyndns help me out?
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old March 9th, 2013, 02:43 PM
sparks003 sparks003 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
sparks003 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Remote Home Surveillance Cameras Monitoring not working

Ok, I tried DynDNS and it did not help.

My ISP just bridged their router and mine and gave me a static IP.

My DVR IP is set to static with it's IP as 10.0.0.3, gateway to 10.1.2.9

10.1.2.9 is the static IP I set in my router that the ISP had me set it to.

I still see my external IP as 199.96.245.37, that part I do not understand. However I am rebooting and trying different things with it as I type this.

I apologize for jumping in on this thread, I think I should have started another hopefully it will help more than one person.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old March 9th, 2013, 03:07 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Remote Home Surveillance Cameras Monitoring not working

Quote:
199.96.245.37
this has to show on netgear router's internet port or it will not work
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old March 10th, 2013, 12:02 PM
fordem fordem is online now
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,558
fordem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Remote Home Surveillance Cameras Monitoring not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by sparks003 View Post
Ok, I tried DynDNS and it did not help.

My ISP just bridged their router and mine and gave me a static IP.

My DVR IP is set to static with it's IP as 10.0.0.3, gateway to 10.1.2.9

10.1.2.9 is the static IP I set in my router that the ISP had me set it to.


I still see my external IP as 199.96.245.37, that part I do not understand. However I am rebooting and trying different things with it as I type this.

I apologize for jumping in on this thread, I think I should have started another hopefully it will help more than one person.
I suspect your default gateway address may be incorrect - it should match the LAN ip of your router.

Go to the PC you are using to access this thread, open a command prompt and type ipconfig - set the DVR's default gateway to match the default gateway shown in the ipconfig results.

Edit...

10.1.2.9 is what - your router's LAN ip or WAN ip?

It sounds like your ISP may be issuing private ip addresses, if that is the case you can forget about external access to the DVR, it's not going to happen.
__________________
Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.

Last edited by fordem; March 10th, 2013 at 12:06 PM. Reason: Additional info.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old March 10th, 2013, 12:18 PM
Rodog Rodog is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Springfield, Ma
Posts: 25
Rodog is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Remote Home Surveillance Cameras Monitoring not working

So far, this is what works and doesn't :

- IPhone 3 and 5 : LAN no , WAN no, DDNS no

- PC's - LAN yes, WAN yes, DDNS yes




BOO BOO KITTENS
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old March 10th, 2013, 01:42 PM
fordem fordem is online now
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,558
fordem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Remote Home Surveillance Cameras Monitoring not working

Rodog - you most likely have a misconfiguration between your DVR and the iPhone app - if you can't get it working on the LAN it won't work on the WAN, and DDNS is just a way to locate it.

Start by determining what ports the DVR uses and configure those in the iPhone app.
__________________
Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old March 11th, 2013, 10:28 AM
sparks003 sparks003 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
sparks003 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Remote Home Surveillance Cameras Monitoring not working

Fordem and June, you were both right, I had my IP and Gateway numbers swapped.
I did not have all my activex set as the DVR instructions said to.
I also failed to set UPnP to enabled after the last reset on my router.

It all works on LAN and WAN as well as iphone 3 and 4.

I forwarded ports:
8080 - HTTP
9000 - client port
18004 - mobile port.

My ISP got me a static IP, I get lost here one would need to contact their ISP. They also bridged my modem (RF modem router) to my router.

I will go back and try to figure out Rodog's in the next few hours, have to go to work for a while.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:45 AM.